Audizine - An Automotive Enthusiast Community

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 96
  1. #1
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Sep 02 2017
    AZ Member #
    406230
    Location
    Edmonton/Alberta/Canada

    Check engine light is on

    Guest-only advertisement. Register or Log In now!
    Check engine light came on today. 2 codes in the ECU..........ECU1($FD00) and ECU2($FD20). This is exactly what i pulled up with my scanner. Car runs perfect, no modifications. The only thing i have done was unplug the exhaust valve but i did that Aug 29th and have put on 2500km since then. If these are in fact caused by the unplugged Valves i will clears the codes and carry on. The problem being i cant find any definition for these codes, can anyone help?


    Jason

  2. #2
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Sep 02 2017
    AZ Member #
    406230
    Location
    Edmonton/Alberta/Canada

    Wow shocked no one has run across this or has any thoughts on it

  3. #3
    Veteran Member Three Rings andru1313's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 13 2007
    AZ Member #
    17244
    My Garage
    Audi 2018 RS3 2006 Evo IX MR
    Location
    West Chester PA

    Do you have a vagcom or are you just using a obdII scanner? Hard to tell from the codes you posted.

  4. #4
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    May 10 2017
    AZ Member #
    399277
    Location
    Lewisberry PA

    Quote Originally Posted by Jlane View Post
    Wow shocked no one has run across this or has any thoughts on it
    I did see one other post, and oddly I think he too was in Canada. Is the ECM software difference for Canada than US?
    2017 Ara Blue RS3

  5. #5
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Sep 02 2017
    AZ Member #
    406230
    Location
    Edmonton/Alberta/Canada

    Just a obd scanner

  6. #6
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Oct 10 2017
    AZ Member #
    408183
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada

    Quote Originally Posted by Jlane View Post
    Check engine light came on today. 2 codes in the ECU..........ECU1($FD00) and ECU2($FD20). This is exactly what i pulled up with my scanner. Car runs perfect, no modifications. The only thing i have done was unplug the exhaust valve but i did that Aug 29th and have put on 2500km since then. If these are in fact caused by the unplugged Valves i will clears the codes and carry on. The problem being i cant find any definition for these codes, can anyone help?


    Jason

    Figured I'd share my experience. I took possession of my RS3 in July, by end of August I had the MIL (malfunction indicator light) appear with no cause. I suspected it may be a sensor issue, checked the fuel cap, disconnected the battery, no luck.

    I brought it into the dealer, and after four weeks (and numerous calls due to lack of updates), the MIL turned off and they deemed the vehicle ready for pickup. It was an incredibly frustrating experience, as they had to open a TAC and work with Audi to diagnose the issue. The dealer was horrible at keeping me in the loop, and I found myself calling them every few days for an update.

    In the end, I got my vehicle back without the MIL. It's been a week and it hasn't returned. Here's hoping...

    I figured I'd share the diagnostics in case anyone else experiences the same issue. It was described to me a fuel error at 85km/hr under 20% throttle. They were unable to recreate the issue. In the end it resolved on its own.


  7. #7
    Active Member Two Rings Krillien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 16 2017
    AZ Member #
    405110
    Location
    Calgary, AB

    I just got my second MIL after two weeks since my first one, fuel trim running too rich as well. It came on when I was around 80kmh at 3k rpm, light throttle on sport mode. Not sure what痴 going on...

  8. #8
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Sep 02 2017
    AZ Member #
    406230
    Location
    Edmonton/Alberta/Canada

    Quote Originally Posted by Krillien View Post
    I just got my second MIL after two weeks since my first one, fuel trim running too rich as well. It came on when I was around 80kmh at 3k rpm, light throttle on sport mode. Not sure what痴 going on...
    Curious to know what codes you found?

  9. #9
    Active Member Two Rings Krillien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 16 2017
    AZ Member #
    405110
    Location
    Calgary, AB

    I don't have a scanner so I don't know, but the first time I had it my dealer said it was fuel trim running too rich. The car is with them right now, so I'll probably have an update soon, I'm expecting the same code though.

    When I took it in the first time, they asked if my trips were short in general, and NOT to baby the car too much. I've since been driving the car like I would normally and not babying it at all, but that obviously didn't fix the issue.
    2018 Mythos Black Audi RS3

  10. #10
    Active Member Two Rings Grexx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 06 2017
    AZ Member #
    406491
    Location
    Calgary

    Quote Originally Posted by Krillien View Post
    I don't have a scanner so I don't know, but the first time I had it my dealer said it was fuel trim running too rich. The car is with them right now, so I'll probably have an update soon, I'm expecting the same code though.

    When I took it in the first time, they asked if my trips were short in general, and NOT to baby the car too much. I've since been driving the car like I would normally and not babying it at all, but that obviously didn't fix the issue.
    I have a Microcan if you're interested of scanning it. LMK

  11. #11
    Active Member Two Rings Krillien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 16 2017
    AZ Member #
    405110
    Location
    Calgary, AB

    Quote Originally Posted by Grexx View Post
    I have a Microcan if you're interested of scanning it. LMK
    Nice, if the dealer comes back to me with inconclusive results I'll definitely reach out to you. Thanks!
    2018 Mythos Black Audi RS3

  12. #12
    Active Member Two Rings Krillien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 16 2017
    AZ Member #
    405110
    Location
    Calgary, AB

    Just a quick update - the dealer is opening up a TAC on my car, I知 assuming it値l be awhile before they figure this out unfortunately. I値l post any updates I get from them here for sure though.

  13. #13
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    May 10 2017
    AZ Member #
    399277
    Location
    Lewisberry PA

    Quote Originally Posted by Krillien View Post
    I don't have a scanner so I don't know, but the first time I had it my dealer said it was fuel trim running too rich. The car is with them right now, so I'll probably have an update soon, I'm expecting the same code though.

    When I took it in the first time, they asked if my trips were short in general, and NOT to baby the car too much. I've since been driving the car like I would normally and not babying it at all, but that obviously didn't fix the issue.
    Don't baby it? What nonsense is that. I've never been told I could get a CEL from how I drive a car. Sorry you're having trouble.
    2017 Ara Blue RS3

  14. #14
    Active Member Two Rings Grexx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 06 2017
    AZ Member #
    406491
    Location
    Calgary

    Quote Originally Posted by Krillien View Post
    Just a quick update - the dealer is opening up a TAC on my car, I知 assuming it値l be awhile before they figure this out unfortunately. I値l post any updates I get from them here for sure though.
    Can you PM me the dealer if you don't mind?

  15. #15
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Oct 10 2017
    AZ Member #
    408183
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada

    Quote Originally Posted by Krillien View Post
    Just a quick update - the dealer is opening up a TAC on my car, I知 assuming it値l be awhile before they figure this out unfortunately. I値l post any updates I get from them here for sure though.
    Good luck, keep us posted. It sounds like the exact issue I went through -- dealer opened a TAC, followed all of the diagnostics and eventually the light turned off on its own.

    I'm somewhat relieved that I don't have a lemon, but also concerned that there's a more common issue that needs to be resolved.

  16. #16
    Active Member Two Rings Krillien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 16 2017
    AZ Member #
    405110
    Location
    Calgary, AB

    Dealer called me today and told me that I can pick my car back up. Somehow the MIL went away itself, much like macrs3.

    They said that Audi Canada will further investigate this issue, and that they will keep my TAC open and will call me to bring my car in when needed. Looks like this is happening to quite a few cars, I guess we値l have to wait and see.

    Just for reference, for those of you getting this code, can you tell me what your build date is for your car?

  17. #17
    Established Member Three Rings
    Join Date
    Feb 24 2017
    AZ Member #
    393992
    Location
    Canada

    Quote Originally Posted by Jlane View Post
    Check engine light came on today. 2 codes in the ECU..........ECU1($FD00) and ECU2($FD20). This is exactly what i pulled up with my scanner. Car runs perfect, no modifications. The only thing i have done was unplug the exhaust valve but i did that Aug 29th and have put on 2500km since then. If these are in fact caused by the unplugged Valves i will clears the codes and carry on. The problem being i cant find any definition for these codes, can anyone help?


    Jason
    Off topic slightly ...how did you find it sounded after you unplugged valves?

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Krillien View Post
    Dealer called me today and told me that I can pick my car back up. Somehow the MIL went away itself, much like macrs3.

    They said that Audi Canada will further investigate this issue, and that they will keep my TAC open and will call me to bring my car in when needed. Looks like this is happening to quite a few cars, I guess we値l have to wait and see.

    Just for reference, for those of you getting this code, can you tell me what your build date is for your car?
    Glad to hear it's fixed ... interesting. Stuff like this is making me wait on tuning my car.

  18. #18
    Active Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Nov 25 2013
    AZ Member #
    131898
    Location
    Ottawa

    A question for those who have an MIL appearing. Are you using top tier gas 100% of the time?

  19. #19
    Active Member Two Rings Krillien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 16 2017
    AZ Member #
    405110
    Location
    Calgary, AB

    Quote Originally Posted by steve111b View Post
    A question for those who have an MIL appearing. Are you using top tier gas 100% of the time?
    I'm using 91 octane.
    2018 Mythos Black Audi RS3

  20. #20
    Active Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Nov 25 2013
    AZ Member #
    131898
    Location
    Ottawa

    Quote Originally Posted by Krillien View Post
    I'm using 91 octane.
    Top tier?

  21. #21
    Active Member Two Rings Krillien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 16 2017
    AZ Member #
    405110
    Location
    Calgary, AB

    Yes according their website. I only fuel up from coop

    http://www.coopfuel.ca/wps/portal/cr...8-32d900432258
    2018 Mythos Black Audi RS3

  22. #22
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    May 10 2017
    AZ Member #
    399277
    Location
    Lewisberry PA

    http://www.toptiergas.com/

    I use shell or exxon 93.
    2017 Ara Blue RS3

  23. #23
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Oct 10 2017
    AZ Member #
    408183
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada

    91 for me, still haven't seen the MIL return after two weeks.

  24. #24
    Veteran Member Four Rings
    Join Date
    Sep 01 2012
    AZ Member #
    99704
    Location
    Edmonton

    Quote Originally Posted by Krillien View Post
    Yes according their website. I only fuel up from coop

    http://www.coopfuel.ca/wps/portal/cr...8-32d900432258
    Interesting i found on my previous modded A4 when i used the co-op gas it would run a lil rough and seemed to lack the power. Currently i run Shell 94 or Petro 94 they seem to run smoother and have a lil more jam. Also noticed my fuel mileage increase a lil. I'm interested in hearing other opinions on fuel producers.
    2018 RS3 Panther Black

  25. #25
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Sep 02 2017
    AZ Member #
    406230
    Location
    Edmonton/Alberta/Canada

    Quote Originally Posted by Jlane View Post
    Check engine light came on today. 2 codes in the ECU..........ECU1($FD00) and ECU2($FD20). This is exactly what i pulled up with my scanner. Car runs perfect, no modifications. The only thing i have done was unplug the exhaust valve but i did that Aug 29th and have put on 2500km since then. If these are in fact caused by the unplugged Valves i will clears the codes and carry on. The problem being i cant find any definition for these codes, can anyone help?

    Ok update to my first post after much searching was never able to get a definition for these codes, tried a different scanner today and found the P21f5 code like other are seeing. Anyone had a solution for this yet ??

    Jason
    Ok update to my first post after much searching was never able to get a definition for these codes, tried a different scanner today and found the P21f5 code like other are seeing. Anyone had a solution for this yet ??

    Jason

  26. #26
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Oct 10 2017
    AZ Member #
    408183
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada

    Quote Originally Posted by Jlane View Post
    Ok update to my first post after much searching was never able to get a definition for these codes, tried a different scanner today and found the P21f5 code like other are seeing. Anyone had a solution for this yet ??

    Jason
    No solution on my end. MIL hasn't returned yet. It would be great to ensure people with these codes are bringing them into the dealer (even if there is no fix). Audi needs to be aware of the issue as it seems common enough at this point.

  27. #27
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Oct 10 2017
    AZ Member #
    408183
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada

    Also of interest, it seems everyone experiencing this issue has been in Canada. Has anyone encountered an issue in the US?

  28. #28
    Active Member Two Rings Krillien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 16 2017
    AZ Member #
    405110
    Location
    Calgary, AB

    According to my dealer, Audi considers this a known issue. My TAC is still open right now, and I値l be bringing my car in when my dealer contacts me. Failing that, I値l reach out to them to see if Audi Canada has made any progress in getting to the bottom of this.

  29. #29
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Oct 02 2010
    AZ Member #
    65150
    Location
    Calgary, AB

    Quote Originally Posted by WAF View Post
    Interesting i found on my previous modded A4 when i used the co-op gas it would run a lil rough and seemed to lack the power. Currently i run Shell 94 or Petro 94 they seem to run smoother and have a lil more jam. Also noticed my fuel mileage increase a lil. I'm interested in hearing other opinions on fuel producers.
    Hey WAF where do you find 94 Octane Shell fuel in Edmonton? I thought Shell痴 Premium Fuel (Nitro+) was only 91 Octane.

    Thanks

  30. #30
    Active Member One Ring jaro12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 06 2017
    AZ Member #
    409446
    My Garage
    2016 BMW M3
    Location
    Regina Sask

    Quote Originally Posted by Krillien View Post
    According to my dealer, Audi considers this a known issue. My TAC is still open right now, and I値l be bringing my car in when my dealer contacts me. Failing that, I値l reach out to them to see if Audi Canada has made any progress in getting to the bottom of this.
    Hi, I'm in the same situation CEL come on, took the car to the local Audi dealer scan shows the same codes, after the initial check light went off they book me for more checks on November 15, a week passed since the light was off no issues yet, please keep me posted on your open case (TAC) with Audi. I'm really curious if Audi will come up with a solution to this problem it is very annoying when you purchase a new car and something like this occurs, hopefully the fix is just a software update.

  31. #31
    Senior Member Three Rings
    Join Date
    Jun 29 2015
    AZ Member #
    339878
    Location
    NJ

    My TT RS is sitting at the German port for over a month. I was told yesterday they are holding RS3 and TT RS at port with no reported day when they will be released.
    We can guess that this is a bigger issue and they don't want to release more cars if there is a problem. Not sure what is worse, car with a CEL or no car at all.

  32. #32
    Active Member Two Rings Krillien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 16 2017
    AZ Member #
    405110
    Location
    Calgary, AB

    Quote Originally Posted by timzcat View Post
    My TT RS is sitting at the German port for over a month. I was told yesterday they are holding RS3 and TT RS at port with no reported day when they will be released.
    We can guess that this is a bigger issue and they don't want to release more cars if there is a problem. Not sure what is worse, car with a CEL or no car at all.
    This is just based off of my limited knowledge, but the CEL we're getting comes from idle bank 1 for fuel running too rich. I've only ever had the CEL come on when I was driving my car, so there should be no reason that idle bank 1 is throwing codes. I'm suspecting this is a software issue.
    2018 Mythos Black Audi RS3

  33. #33
    Active Member Two Rings motopix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 19 2017
    AZ Member #
    407142
    Location
    NoVA

    Quote Originally Posted by timzcat View Post
    My TT RS is sitting at the German port for over a month. I was told yesterday they are holding RS3 and TT RS at port with no reported day when they will be released.
    We can guess that this is a bigger issue and they don't want to release more cars if there is a problem. Not sure what is worse, car with a CEL or no car at all.

    That must be torture. My car is supposed to be finished in the next week or two but they are projecting mid-to-end-of December delivery. Maybe that's the reason.
    Hang tight!

  34. #34
    Senior Member Three Rings
    Join Date
    Apr 22 2012
    AZ Member #
    92305
    Location
    Norway

    Quote Originally Posted by Krillien View Post
    This is just based off of my limited knowledge, but the CEL we're getting comes from idle bank 1 for fuel running too rich. I've only ever had the CEL come on when I was driving my car, so there should be no reason that idle bank 1 is throwing codes. I'm suspecting this is a software issue.
    If the car is running to rich the perhaps you could try logging lambda specified and actual over RPM and see if your AFR is what the ECU wants?

  35. #35
    Active Member Two Rings Krillien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 16 2017
    AZ Member #
    405110
    Location
    Calgary, AB

    Quote Originally Posted by context.eax View Post
    If the car is running to rich the perhaps you could try logging lambda specified and actual over RPM and see if your AFR is what the ECU wants?
    I have confirmed this with my dealership that my AFR during actual idle and test drives came back normal. I'm still waiting on Audi Canada for more information regarding this.
    2018 Mythos Black Audi RS3

  36. #36
    Senior Member Three Rings
    Join Date
    Jun 29 2015
    AZ Member #
    339878
    Location
    NJ

    Quote Originally Posted by motopix View Post
    That must be torture. My car is supposed to be finished in the next week or two but they are projecting mid-to-end-of December delivery. Maybe that's the reason.
    Hang tight!
    It is because I won't drive it in the crappy weather so by the time it arrives it will be December.

  37. #37
    Active Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Jan 11 2012
    AZ Member #
    86517
    My Garage
    2018 Honda Ridgeline BE
    Location
    Calgary, AB

    Just got a check engine light on the way home and a quick read with an OBD scanner (would have used ODBEleven, but it's so damned finicky connection wise) came up with the P21F5 code as noted in the diagnostics printout earlier in the thread.
    Guess I'll be harassing the dealership when I get back from site

    Quote Originally Posted by Krillien View Post
    According to my dealer, Audi considers this a known issue. My TAC is still open right now, and I値l be bringing my car in when my dealer contacts me. Failing that, I値l reach out to them to see if Audi Canada has made any progress in getting to the bottom of this.
    Which dealer was working this for you Krillien? Not that it should matter if it's a known issue with Audi Canada.

  38. #38
    Active Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Sep 18 2012
    AZ Member #
    100662
    Location
    Norway

    Hi,

    I know there's an update available for this fault codes: P21F500, P218700 and P21F800 all saying something about the fuel mixture too lean/Rich.. Ask Your dealer about a TPI :)
    2018 Audi RS3 lim
    2004 Audi A4 Avant 1.8tq
    From Norway

  39. #39
    Stage 2 Banner Advertiser Three Rings Paul@SupremePower's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 24 2013
    AZ Member #
    108228
    My Garage
    2017 RS3 |2014 B8.5 S5 stage 2+ |2010 MK6 GTI KO4 -gone
    Location
    Greater NYC area

    Quote Originally Posted by fastolsen View Post
    Hi,

    I know there's an update available for this fault codes: P21F500, P218700 and P21F800 all saying something about the fuel mixture too lean/Rich.. Ask Your dealer about a TPI :)
    I get this one too. Soft code no mil.

    Bank 1 too rich off idle.

    I didn稚 know there was an update thanks!

    paul@supremepower.com aka: allset

    | 034 | ADV.1 | AG | Advan | Akrapovič | AWE | BBS | BC Forged | Brembo | Capristo | Forgeline | H&R | Klassen | KW | Milltek | Modulare | Ohlins | OZ | Stoptech | TSW | Volk | Vorsteiner | Work | and many more

  40. #40
    Veteran Member Three Rings
    Join Date
    May 29 2012
    AZ Member #
    94309
    Location
    Evergreen, CO

    For clarity, does an MIL = a CEL? My guess is no. I'm on my first tank of gas (dealer supplied) and have an MIL. Called dealer who, after confirming it was yellow, rather than red, told me not to worry and that it would likely clear itself soon.
    Obviously, am subscribed to thread.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


    © 2001-2018 Audizine, Audizine.com, and Driverzines.com
    Audizine is an independently owned and operated automotive enthusiast community and news website.
    Audi and the Audi logo(s) are copyright/trademark Audi AG. Audizine is not endorsed by or affiliated with Audi AG.