Audizine - An Automotive Enthusiast Community

Results 1 to 29 of 29
  1. #1
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Sep 02 2017
    AZ Member #
    406230
    Location
    Edmonton/Alberta/Canada

    Check engine light is on

    Guest-only advertisement. Register or Log In now!
    Check engine light came on today. 2 codes in the ECU..........ECU1($FD00) and ECU2($FD20). This is exactly what i pulled up with my scanner. Car runs perfect, no modifications. The only thing i have done was unplug the exhaust valve but i did that Aug 29th and have put on 2500km since then. If these are in fact caused by the unplugged Valves i will clears the codes and carry on. The problem being i cant find any definition for these codes, can anyone help?


    Jason

  2. #2
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Sep 02 2017
    AZ Member #
    406230
    Location
    Edmonton/Alberta/Canada

    Wow shocked no one has run across this or has any thoughts on it

  3. #3
    Veteran Member Three Rings andru1313's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 13 2007
    AZ Member #
    17244
    My Garage
    Audi 2018 RS3 2006 Evo IX MR
    Location
    West Chester PA

    Do you have a vagcom or are you just using a obdII scanner? Hard to tell from the codes you posted.

  4. #4
    Active Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    May 10 2017
    AZ Member #
    399277
    Location
    Lewisberry PA

    Quote Originally Posted by Jlane View Post
    Wow shocked no one has run across this or has any thoughts on it
    I did see one other post, and oddly I think he too was in Canada. Is the ECM software difference for Canada than US?
    2017 Ara Blue RS3

  5. #5
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Sep 02 2017
    AZ Member #
    406230
    Location
    Edmonton/Alberta/Canada

    Just a obd scanner

  6. #6
    Registered Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Oct 10 2017
    AZ Member #
    408183
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada

    Quote Originally Posted by Jlane View Post
    Check engine light came on today. 2 codes in the ECU..........ECU1($FD00) and ECU2($FD20). This is exactly what i pulled up with my scanner. Car runs perfect, no modifications. The only thing i have done was unplug the exhaust valve but i did that Aug 29th and have put on 2500km since then. If these are in fact caused by the unplugged Valves i will clears the codes and carry on. The problem being i cant find any definition for these codes, can anyone help?


    Jason

    Figured I'd share my experience. I took possession of my RS3 in July, by end of August I had the MIL (malfunction indicator light) appear with no cause. I suspected it may be a sensor issue, checked the fuel cap, disconnected the battery, no luck.

    I brought it into the dealer, and after four weeks (and numerous calls due to lack of updates), the MIL turned off and they deemed the vehicle ready for pickup. It was an incredibly frustrating experience, as they had to open a TAC and work with Audi to diagnose the issue. The dealer was horrible at keeping me in the loop, and I found myself calling them every few days for an update.

    In the end, I got my vehicle back without the MIL. It's been a week and it hasn't returned. Here's hoping...

    I figured I'd share the diagnostics in case anyone else experiences the same issue. It was described to me a fuel error at 85km/hr under 20% throttle. They were unable to recreate the issue. In the end it resolved on its own.


  7. #7
    Active Member Two Rings Krillien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 16 2017
    AZ Member #
    405110
    Location
    Calgary, AB

    I just got my second MIL after two weeks since my first one, fuel trim running too rich as well. It came on when I was around 80kmh at 3k rpm, light throttle on sport mode. Not sure what痴 going on...

  8. #8
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Sep 02 2017
    AZ Member #
    406230
    Location
    Edmonton/Alberta/Canada

    Quote Originally Posted by Krillien View Post
    I just got my second MIL after two weeks since my first one, fuel trim running too rich as well. It came on when I was around 80kmh at 3k rpm, light throttle on sport mode. Not sure what痴 going on...
    Curious to know what codes you found?

  9. #9
    Active Member Two Rings Krillien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 16 2017
    AZ Member #
    405110
    Location
    Calgary, AB

    I don't have a scanner so I don't know, but the first time I had it my dealer said it was fuel trim running too rich. The car is with them right now, so I'll probably have an update soon, I'm expecting the same code though.

    When I took it in the first time, they asked if my trips were short in general, and NOT to baby the car too much. I've since been driving the car like I would normally and not babying it at all, but that obviously didn't fix the issue.
    2018 Mythos Black Audi RS3

  10. #10
    Active Member Two Rings Grexx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 06 2017
    AZ Member #
    406491
    Location
    Calgary

    Quote Originally Posted by Krillien View Post
    I don't have a scanner so I don't know, but the first time I had it my dealer said it was fuel trim running too rich. The car is with them right now, so I'll probably have an update soon, I'm expecting the same code though.

    When I took it in the first time, they asked if my trips were short in general, and NOT to baby the car too much. I've since been driving the car like I would normally and not babying it at all, but that obviously didn't fix the issue.
    I have a Microcan if you're interested of scanning it. LMK

  11. #11
    Active Member Two Rings Krillien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 16 2017
    AZ Member #
    405110
    Location
    Calgary, AB

    Quote Originally Posted by Grexx View Post
    I have a Microcan if you're interested of scanning it. LMK
    Nice, if the dealer comes back to me with inconclusive results I'll definitely reach out to you. Thanks!
    2018 Mythos Black Audi RS3

  12. #12
    Active Member Two Rings Krillien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 16 2017
    AZ Member #
    405110
    Location
    Calgary, AB

    Just a quick update - the dealer is opening up a TAC on my car, I知 assuming it値l be awhile before they figure this out unfortunately. I値l post any updates I get from them here for sure though.

  13. #13
    Active Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    May 10 2017
    AZ Member #
    399277
    Location
    Lewisberry PA

    Quote Originally Posted by Krillien View Post
    I don't have a scanner so I don't know, but the first time I had it my dealer said it was fuel trim running too rich. The car is with them right now, so I'll probably have an update soon, I'm expecting the same code though.

    When I took it in the first time, they asked if my trips were short in general, and NOT to baby the car too much. I've since been driving the car like I would normally and not babying it at all, but that obviously didn't fix the issue.
    Don't baby it? What nonsense is that. I've never been told I could get a CEL from how I drive a car. Sorry you're having trouble.
    2017 Ara Blue RS3

  14. #14
    Active Member Two Rings Grexx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 06 2017
    AZ Member #
    406491
    Location
    Calgary

    Quote Originally Posted by Krillien View Post
    Just a quick update - the dealer is opening up a TAC on my car, I知 assuming it値l be awhile before they figure this out unfortunately. I値l post any updates I get from them here for sure though.
    Can you PM me the dealer if you don't mind?

  15. #15
    Registered Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Oct 10 2017
    AZ Member #
    408183
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada

    Quote Originally Posted by Krillien View Post
    Just a quick update - the dealer is opening up a TAC on my car, I知 assuming it値l be awhile before they figure this out unfortunately. I値l post any updates I get from them here for sure though.
    Good luck, keep us posted. It sounds like the exact issue I went through -- dealer opened a TAC, followed all of the diagnostics and eventually the light turned off on its own.

    I'm somewhat relieved that I don't have a lemon, but also concerned that there's a more common issue that needs to be resolved.

  16. #16
    Active Member Two Rings Krillien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 16 2017
    AZ Member #
    405110
    Location
    Calgary, AB

    Dealer called me today and told me that I can pick my car back up. Somehow the MIL went away itself, much like macrs3.

    They said that Audi Canada will further investigate this issue, and that they will keep my TAC open and will call me to bring my car in when needed. Looks like this is happening to quite a few cars, I guess we値l have to wait and see.

    Just for reference, for those of you getting this code, can you tell me what your build date is for your car?

  17. #17
    Established Member Three Rings
    Join Date
    Feb 24 2017
    AZ Member #
    393992
    Location
    Canada

    Quote Originally Posted by Jlane View Post
    Check engine light came on today. 2 codes in the ECU..........ECU1($FD00) and ECU2($FD20). This is exactly what i pulled up with my scanner. Car runs perfect, no modifications. The only thing i have done was unplug the exhaust valve but i did that Aug 29th and have put on 2500km since then. If these are in fact caused by the unplugged Valves i will clears the codes and carry on. The problem being i cant find any definition for these codes, can anyone help?


    Jason
    Off topic slightly ...how did you find it sounded after you unplugged valves?

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Krillien View Post
    Dealer called me today and told me that I can pick my car back up. Somehow the MIL went away itself, much like macrs3.

    They said that Audi Canada will further investigate this issue, and that they will keep my TAC open and will call me to bring my car in when needed. Looks like this is happening to quite a few cars, I guess we値l have to wait and see.

    Just for reference, for those of you getting this code, can you tell me what your build date is for your car?
    Glad to hear it's fixed ... interesting. Stuff like this is making me wait on tuning my car.

  18. #18
    Active Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Nov 25 2013
    AZ Member #
    131898
    Location
    Ottawa

    A question for those who have an MIL appearing. Are you using top tier gas 100% of the time?

  19. #19
    Active Member Two Rings Krillien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 16 2017
    AZ Member #
    405110
    Location
    Calgary, AB

    Quote Originally Posted by steve111b View Post
    A question for those who have an MIL appearing. Are you using top tier gas 100% of the time?
    I'm using 91 octane.
    2018 Mythos Black Audi RS3

  20. #20
    Active Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Nov 25 2013
    AZ Member #
    131898
    Location
    Ottawa

    Quote Originally Posted by Krillien View Post
    I'm using 91 octane.
    Top tier?

  21. #21
    Active Member Two Rings Krillien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 16 2017
    AZ Member #
    405110
    Location
    Calgary, AB

    Yes according their website. I only fuel up from coop

    http://www.coopfuel.ca/wps/portal/cr...8-32d900432258
    2018 Mythos Black Audi RS3

  22. #22
    Active Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    May 10 2017
    AZ Member #
    399277
    Location
    Lewisberry PA

    http://www.toptiergas.com/

    I use shell or exxon 93.
    2017 Ara Blue RS3

  23. #23
    Registered Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Oct 10 2017
    AZ Member #
    408183
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada

    91 for me, still haven't seen the MIL return after two weeks.

  24. #24
    Veteran Member Four Rings
    Join Date
    Sep 01 2012
    AZ Member #
    99704
    Location
    Edmonton

    Quote Originally Posted by Krillien View Post
    Yes according their website. I only fuel up from coop

    http://www.coopfuel.ca/wps/portal/cr...8-32d900432258
    Interesting i found on my previous modded A4 when i used the co-op gas it would run a lil rough and seemed to lack the power. Currently i run Shell 94 or Petro 94 they seem to run smoother and have a lil more jam. Also noticed my fuel mileage increase a lil. I'm interested in hearing other opinions on fuel producers.
    2018 RS3 Panther Black

  25. #25
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Sep 02 2017
    AZ Member #
    406230
    Location
    Edmonton/Alberta/Canada

    Quote Originally Posted by Jlane View Post
    Check engine light came on today. 2 codes in the ECU..........ECU1($FD00) and ECU2($FD20). This is exactly what i pulled up with my scanner. Car runs perfect, no modifications. The only thing i have done was unplug the exhaust valve but i did that Aug 29th and have put on 2500km since then. If these are in fact caused by the unplugged Valves i will clears the codes and carry on. The problem being i cant find any definition for these codes, can anyone help?

    Ok update to my first post after much searching was never able to get a definition for these codes, tried a different scanner today and found the P21f5 code like other are seeing. Anyone had a solution for this yet ??

    Jason
    Ok update to my first post after much searching was never able to get a definition for these codes, tried a different scanner today and found the P21f5 code like other are seeing. Anyone had a solution for this yet ??

    Jason

  26. #26
    Registered Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Oct 10 2017
    AZ Member #
    408183
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada

    Quote Originally Posted by Jlane View Post
    Ok update to my first post after much searching was never able to get a definition for these codes, tried a different scanner today and found the P21f5 code like other are seeing. Anyone had a solution for this yet ??

    Jason
    No solution on my end. MIL hasn't returned yet. It would be great to ensure people with these codes are bringing them into the dealer (even if there is no fix). Audi needs to be aware of the issue as it seems common enough at this point.

  27. #27
    Registered Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Oct 10 2017
    AZ Member #
    408183
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada

    Also of interest, it seems everyone experiencing this issue has been in Canada. Has anyone encountered an issue in the US?

  28. #28
    Active Member Two Rings Krillien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 16 2017
    AZ Member #
    405110
    Location
    Calgary, AB

    According to my dealer, Audi considers this a known issue. My TAC is still open right now, and I値l be bringing my car in when my dealer contacts me. Failing that, I値l reach out to them to see if Audi Canada has made any progress in getting to the bottom of this.

  29. #29
    Registered Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Oct 02 2010
    AZ Member #
    65150
    Location
    Calgary, AB

    Quote Originally Posted by WAF View Post
    Interesting i found on my previous modded A4 when i used the co-op gas it would run a lil rough and seemed to lack the power. Currently i run Shell 94 or Petro 94 they seem to run smoother and have a lil more jam. Also noticed my fuel mileage increase a lil. I'm interested in hearing other opinions on fuel producers.
    Hey WAF where do you find 94 Octane Shell fuel in Edmonton? I thought Shell痴 Premium Fuel (Nitro+) was only 91 Octane.

    Thanks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


    © 2001-2017 Audizine, Audizine.com, and Driverzines.com
    Audizine is an independently owned and operated automotive enthusiast community and news website.
    Audi and the Audi logo(s) are copyright/trademark Audi AG. Audizine is not endorsed by or affiliated with Audi AG.