Audizine - An Automotive Enthusiast Community

Results 1 to 26 of 26
  1. #1
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Jun 26 2014
    AZ Member #
    259226
    Location
    ny

    Need help with Aftermarket radio

    Guest-only advertisement. Register or Log In now!
    So I purchased a a pioneer radio to replace the stock. I bought a metra harness, and antenna adapter. Now, I am trying to hook it all up. BUT, I have read that the rear speakers are wired differently. Unfortunately theres really only one good tutorial, but I cant see the pictures. And the wording isnt the best so its hard to tell.

    SO, from what I could gather, I may need an RCA filter? but im not sure if I do or dont, and where it would even go. My metra harness did come with two seperate harness'. One black input jack, to connect to the radio harness, and another one with purple and grey male connectors, red colored input jack.

    And yes, I know its been answered before, but not explicitly

  2. #2
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Jun 26 2014
    AZ Member #
    259226
    Location
    ny

    bump

  3. #3
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    May 22 2012
    AZ Member #
    93922
    Location
    Estonia

    Is Metra code 70-1787? If yes, then i assume you have 1 din Concert II in your car? If yes, is it Bose(appears on screen when you turn on radio) or not? Pioneer exact model would be also good to know. With this info would be much easier to go on.

  4. #4
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Jun 26 2014
    AZ Member #
    259226
    Location
    ny

    Quote Originally Posted by ReinS View Post
    Is Metra code 70-1787? If yes, then i assume you have 1 din Concert II in your car? If yes, is it Bose(appears on screen when you turn on radio) or not? Pioneer exact model would be also good to know. With this info would be much easier to go on.

    Yes 70-1787. I have the symphony 2 din stereo. No bose. Pioneer FH-X730BS is the model. Thanks for the help

  5. #5
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    May 22 2012
    AZ Member #
    93922
    Location
    Estonia

    From Metra red plug green/black(violet) rca to pioneer rear out (5 in pioneer installation manual). There is different rca colors when made picture search but first upper and lower pins from corner is right ones. When you take your stock one out there should also be wiring diagram. Blue/white from Metra red to pioneer blue/white(17). Now Metra black plug wires connect to pioneer wires by colors. But there is a few issues. At first stereo wonít turn on and if you get it to work then radio reception might be bad. Now you have to find switched live for red wire(i took mine from ignition switch s pin) to get radio to switch on. You can actually splice yellow/red wires together to get stereo to work but iím not recommend this(caused battery drain with my previous Sony). As you noticed antenna adapter wire isnít also connected. Now you have to find 12v for that too. Fusebox maybe? I didnít needed that for my stereo cause alpine had 2 different wires to feed antenna and amp. Hope this help you to get things going.

  6. #6
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Jun 26 2014
    AZ Member #
    259226
    Location
    ny

    So my Metra RED socket, has 4 RCA connectors at the end, green, violet, white, and grey. What Do I do with the white and gray?

    By "Blue/White from Metra RED to Pioneer Blue/White", do you mean to the rear of the pioneer unit? Because there is a "F" , "R", and "SW". With white and red ports for each.

    Why would I need to find a live wire for red? There is the red wire from the a4 harness that should connect to the black metra socket, no?

  7. #7
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    May 22 2012
    AZ Member #
    93922
    Location
    Estonia

    1) You leave white and gray not connected cause those are bose front out. You may just isolate them. Green and violet rca is for rear channels. You connect those to rear of the pioneer unit ďRĒ out. Green to white and violet to red.

    2) By blue/white I mean blue wire with white stripe. You connect this to pioneer blue/white wire (nr. 17 in pioneer manual p23 Connections/Installation) This feeds rear amp.

    3) Thick red/blue wire from a4 harness should connect to Metra socket yellow wire. This is constant 12v for preset station memory and etc. To answer your question ďWhy would I need to find live wire for red?Ē I have to explain something. B6 radio get switched live through can-bus communication. Unfortunately aftermarket stereo canít understand this(unless you buy more expensive solution than this harness). So you need wire with switchable 12v. I took mine from s pin as I said earlier. Act more like original stereo(remove key-turn off/key to switch and turn a little bit-turn on). Also as I said earlier you can splice pioneers yellow and red wire together and connect to red/blue in a4 harness but this may cause battery drain(I already gone through this). If a4 ignition switch had have ACC position, then would be much easier put aftermarket in.

  8. #8
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Jun 26 2014
    AZ Member #
    259226
    Location
    ny

    1) Got it

    2) There is one blue/white stripe wire on the RED metra socket. There is another blue white stripe wire on the BLACK metra harness, but that is taped off with ""REMOTE CONTROL" sticker on it. The only other blue one is the one from the antenna adapter.

    3)Could you explain what S pin is? What do you wire the S PIN to?

  9. #9
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    May 22 2012
    AZ Member #
    93922
    Location
    Estonia

    2) Connect red metra blue/white wire to pioneer harness blue/white directly. Donít use that blue/white wire from metra black. Strange cause when I googled this harness, there wasnít blue/white wire shown at all on pics. For that blue from antenna adapter you have to find +12v, otherwise radio reception would be poor cause original stereo power antenna gets power through antenna plug.

    3) You have to remove lower steering column cover to get to ignition switch wires connection plate. There is soldered wire marked with ďSĒ. Turn key just a little bit. Ignition should be not turned on. Check with multimeter or 12v control lamp is there power. Remove key from switch and there should not be power on that pin. Now solder or connect and isolate wire to this pin and run this wire to red wire in pioneer HU harness. That gives you switched live. You can connect red and yellow together and run to red in car harness as I said earlier. Much easier to do, but if battery drain happens, the s pin connection should be done. I use this connection 6 years already with no issues.

  10. #10
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Jun 26 2014
    AZ Member #
    259226
    Location
    ny

    2) There is no blue/white on the pioneer harness

    3) So I dont need to connect the red wire from the a4 at all? I can leave it be?

  11. #11
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    May 22 2012
    AZ Member #
    93922
    Location
    Estonia

    2) Should be. https://www.pioneerelectronics.com/S...nual051816.pdf. Page 24. Or just blue then.

    3) Red from a4 gives permanent +12v to radio. Without it you have a brick instead a working stereo. It's most important wire.

    http://content.etilize.com/User-Manual/1019936265.pdf It's a Metra connection manual.

  12. #12
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Jun 26 2014
    AZ Member #
    259226
    Location
    ny

    https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B-...1hfa0MxakU5bGs

    Thats two pictures of what im working with. No blue or blue white on pioneer. The blue white stripe you do see in the first picture, is the taped off "REMOTE" wire.

    Should I just go to get it done by someone who does stereos?

  13. #13
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    May 22 2012
    AZ Member #
    93922
    Location
    Estonia

    Black plug in the first picture is what you connect to pioneer HU, right? That blue/white REMOTE wire connect with blue/white wire from red plug on second picture. Itís taped off to prevent short. When you turn radio on it gives +12v. If you feel uncertain about this, then easier would be to find someone who can do it. Only two wires left to connect.

  14. #14
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Jun 26 2014
    AZ Member #
    259226
    Location
    ny

    Yes, black plug in first picture plugs into Pioneer rear.

    So the blue white stripe is connected. For the last wire. It runs from S pin or another source, to the Pioneer red? Is this correct? The pioneer red is already connected to the a4 red though.

  15. #15
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    May 22 2012
    AZ Member #
    93922
    Location
    Estonia

    Quote Originally Posted by jeepbrahh View Post
    The pioneer red is already connected to the a4 red though.
    What do you mean by that. When you connect metra plug to Audi plug as shown on 2-nd pic then pioneer yellow wire should be connected with Audi thick red/blue stripe wire. To pioneer red wire should not be connected with any wire from car harness, cause there isnít any wire on that spot originally.

    From S pin would be great but you can splice pioneer yellow and red wire together and connect to Audi red. Then no need run wire from s, but this solution possibly causes battery drain.

  16. #16
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Jun 26 2014
    AZ Member #
    259226
    Location
    ny

    Okay so from the metra black, there is a red wire. Right now I have that connected to the Red wire coming from the pioneer harness. These two wires are connected currently.

    If I am understanding, these two wires should NOT be connected? And that the Pioneer red should be connected to a live wire such as S pin?

  17. #17
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    May 22 2012
    AZ Member #
    93922
    Location
    Estonia

    Ok, as you wrote earlier that red from pioneer is connected to a4 red I understood that you connected pioneer red to a4 red directly. Sorry. You can connect metra red with pioneer red, and then run live from s through metra red or run live directly to pioneer red. No difference.

  18. #18
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Jun 26 2014
    AZ Member #
    259226
    Location
    ny

    Okay, I got it to work by using a fuse tap on fuse 36 on the driver side fuse panel. Unfortunately, the only wire I had was some thicker gauge wire, so I tested with that. The pioneer unit was working fine until I was fiddling with teh settings, and it seemed to have shorted, as there was a spark at around the fuse panel or where the fuse tap meets the thicker wire.

    Im not sure what happenned, I just turned my car off and went to eat. Do you have an idea of what went wrong? Too thick of cable? Improperly grounded?

  19. #19
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    May 22 2012
    AZ Member #
    93922
    Location
    Estonia

    Hard to say from distance but if there was a short then should be blown fuse or fuses. Loosen connection also causes spark when you move wire.

  20. #20
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Jun 26 2014
    AZ Member #
    259226
    Location
    ny

    Blown fuse. I think it was just a loose connection since the fuse tap wasnt crimped. I tried with a new fuse and it worked fine. The only problem now is the rear speakers arent on

  21. #21
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    May 22 2012
    AZ Member #
    93922
    Location
    Estonia

    Does rear worked before fuse accident? If yes, then check fuse 39. If itís ok, then does that blue/white wire which goes to red metra plug get +12v? This feeds rear amp. Or you just changed something in pioneer settings. Fader maybe?
    Last edited by ReinS; 10-06-2017 at 11:08 PM.

  22. #22
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Jun 26 2014
    AZ Member #
    259226
    Location
    ny

    They did not work before the fuse accident. I do not know if it gets 12v. I didnt change anything in settings from out of the box, but I did try to fiddle with the settings to see if anything would change, nothing got it to work

  23. #23
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Jun 26 2014
    AZ Member #
    259226
    Location
    ny

    So the rears work, theyre just verrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrry low. To hear them I have to turn up the fader and increase the volume for each rear speaker by 10+ at least. So everything is good EXCEPT I now have poor radio reception. Very poor. I tried pulling the power antenna adapter in and out, nothing changed.

  24. #24
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    May 22 2012
    AZ Member #
    93922
    Location
    Estonia

    I also moved fader +5 to rear on my Alpine. 2v line out signal volume is low. Does antenna adapter blue wire get +12v? I had exact same situation with poor reception once and a problem was missing power.

  25. #25
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Jun 26 2014
    AZ Member #
    259226
    Location
    ny

    I got it to work, I connected it to the other blue wires. So now it is finally complete. Thank you ReinS. You have been helpful and patient. I definitely appreciate it now, that I did it myself rather than to get someone else to do it for me. Cheers!

  26. #26
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    May 22 2012
    AZ Member #
    93922
    Location
    Estonia

    Itís a great feeling when you can do something, even when at first it looks too damn complicated, isnít it? Glad to help. Cheers!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


    © 2001-2017 Audizine, Audizine.com, and Driverzines.com
    Audizine is an independently owned and operated automotive enthusiast community and news website.
    Audi and the Audi logo(s) are copyright/trademark Audi AG. Audizine is not endorsed by or affiliated with Audi AG.