Audizine - An Automotive Enthusiast Community

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: reset ECU?

  1. #1
    Awaiting Confirmation Two Rings
    Join Date
    Jun 27 2004
    AZ Member #
    2610
    My Garage
    Audi A4 1.8T Quattro
    Location
    U.S.

    reset ECU?

    Guest-only advertisement. Register or Log In now!
    If I unplug the battery to reset the ECU, will there be any security measure to deal with to start the car back up?

  2. #2
    Veteran Member Four Rings teutonic_blur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 11 2004
    AZ Member #
    47
    Location
    Puerto Rico

    Re: reset ECU?

    Originally posted by techson
    If I unplug the battery to reset the ECU, will there be any security measure to deal with to start the car back up?
    No but there's a remote possibility that the radio could go into safe mode so have the radio reset code handy.
    If A is a success in life, then A equals x plus y plus z. Work is x; y is play; and z is keeping your mouth shut.
    Albert Einstein

    It's not that I'm afraid to die, I just don't want to be there when it happens.
    Woody Allen
    ----
    2003 A4 1.8T FWD 5M
    Revo SPS1, K&N drop-in, NGK Coppers

  3. #3
    Registered Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    May 21 2005
    AZ Member #
    6568
    Location
    atlanta

    why dont you just unplug the ecu thats alot easier to do.

  4. #4
    Awaiting Confirmation Two Rings
    Join Date
    Jun 27 2004
    AZ Member #
    2610
    My Garage
    Audi A4 1.8T Quattro
    Location
    U.S.

    yeah i could do that

  5. #5
    Veteran Member Four Rings
    Join Date
    Jul 21 2004
    AZ Member #
    2873
    My Garage
    2014 IS350; 2004 BMW X3; 2001 Spec Miata; 2000 Porsche Boxster
    Location
    Florida

    Originally posted by emulex
    why dont you just unplug the ecu thats alot easier to do.
    Doesnt that require removing the right windshield wiper arm, removing (5) of the T30 torque screws to the ecu compartment, using the dremel to remove the chastity belt from the ecu, then unplugging the ecu?

    cheers! Mike
    2009 Audi A4 2.0T QT P+
    APR Tuned, CTS K04, Ported Head, IE Rods, ARP studs, HR Coilovers, H-Sport AntiSways, AWE Exhaust, B8 RS5 Brakes, R8 Coilpacks, RS4 Pedals

    Gone but not forgotten:
    2000 A4 1.8TFM; 2003 A4 1.8TQM; 2006 A4 2.0TQM; 2004 S4 6MT

    Audi S4 Compilation Video!!!

  6. #6
    Veteran Member Four Rings Itchy Foot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 08 2005
    AZ Member #
    4768
    My Garage
    B6 USP 1.8T
    Location
    Toronto, Canada

    Originally posted by bhvrdr
    Doesnt that require removing the right windshield wiper arm, removing (5) of the T30 torque screws to the ecu compartment, using the dremel to remove the chastity belt from the ecu, then unplugging the ecu?

    cheers! Mike
    Yup.

    And the dealer would think you chipped (or attempted to at least) your car if they ever decide to remove the ECU.
    -Chris

  7. #7
    Registered Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    May 21 2005
    AZ Member #
    6568
    Location
    atlanta

    i don't believe my b6 has a chastity belt. it was built in late 2001.



Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


    © 2001-2014 Audizine, Audizine.com, and Driverzines.com
    Audizine is an independently owned and operated automotive enthusiast community and news website.
    Audi and the Audi logo(s) are copyright/trademark Audi AG. Audizine is not endorsed by or affiliated with Audi AG.