Audizine - An Automotive Enthusiast Community

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Senior Member Three Rings
    Join Date
    Aug 09 2011
    AZ Member #
    79500
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY

    Pic Request for Subwoofer location

    Guest-only advertisement. Register or Log In now!
    Audi A6 having it professionally installed however, by site I want to ensure they are tapping into the Subwoofer speaker wire off of my bose system.
    Last edited by SPONGE; 04-17-2014 at 12:12 PM.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Three Rings
    Join Date
    Aug 09 2011
    AZ Member #
    79500
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY

    Does anyone have a picture of the subwoofer speaker wire to be tapped.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Three Rings
    Join Date
    Jul 26 2008
    AZ Member #
    31287
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia

    You actually don't want them to tap into your Bose to std-sub wire. That is an amplified and Bose eq processed output.

    It is best to pickup an unprocessed lin level out put. This can be done at the h/u or before the Bose amp. You then run that to your new amplifier and sub. Sorry, I have no pics.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Three Rings
    Join Date
    Aug 09 2011
    AZ Member #
    79500
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY

    I Thought the reason for the active LOC was it sums the signal again without looking for unprocessed output?

  5. #5
    Senior Member Three Rings
    Join Date
    Aug 29 2013
    AZ Member #
    122005
    Location
    Charleston, SC

    The below post applies to the C7 Audi A6/S6 with Bose.

    The subwoofer wires are located in the following locations on the T38 wire harness that plugs into the Bose amplifier:

    Pin # 5 = subwoofer (-) [Brown/Blue wire]
    Pin # 17 = subwoofer (+) [Brown/Gray wire]



    I have an Audison BitOne in my 2013 S6 with Bose.

    We tapped the following Bose outputs:

    Front Tweeters (L/R)
    Front Midrange (L/R)
    Front midbass (L/R)
    Subwoofer

    7 outputs total. They are all active crossover at the Bose amp.
    Keep in mind that I did a full system upgrade, not just subwoofers.

    Here is my wiring diagram which I created. 2013 S6 Bose Wire Diagram - Audison BitOne Connections
    Ignore the right side diagram, as that is for my amplifier and would not necessarily be relevant to you. But the left side shows all of the wire assignments and colors, and there is a picture of the T38 harness.

    I tested all 7 of those outputs from the Bose with an oscilloscope and test signals. I can confirm that the Bose front midbass speakers do NOT receive any sub bass signal. I used a 40 Hz test signal and there was no signal present when testing the front midbass on my scope. None. Total flat line. I had to use the subwoofer output to get the 40 Hz signal to work.


    I have not tested any of the rear speaker outputs from the Bose, however. So I cannot say with certainty whether they would supply a full range signal or not. But I suspect they do not, since the front midbass do not.

    There are 4 rear speaker outputs from the Bose amplifier. 2 of those outputs go to the rear doors where there is a passive crossover, and it splits to a mid and tweeter. The rear deck speakers are called "Effects Speakers" in the Audi Repair Manual. I seriously doubt any of those rear outputs would provide a suitable signal for conversion to run a subwoofer.

    Without actually testing the rear speakers, I do still feel confident that I can assume they also do not receive full range signal. My belief is that ONLY the subwoofer channel receives sub-bass signal. Therefore, if you want to add a subwoofer properly, you must tap the subwoofer output. Unless someone has tested those rear outputs and can confirm otherwise, this is the best info I can provide.
    Last edited by subterFUSE; 04-19-2014 at 07:35 AM.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Three Rings
    Join Date
    Aug 29 2013
    AZ Member #
    122005
    Location
    Charleston, SC

    Quote Originally Posted by dcc236 View Post
    You actually don't want them to tap into your Bose to std-sub wire. That is an amplified and Bose eq processed output.

    It is best to pickup an unprocessed lin level out put. This can be done at the h/u or before the Bose amp. You then run that to your new amplifier and sub. Sorry, I have no pics.
    The only way to get a pre-amplified signal in the C7 models with Bose is to purchase a MoBridge. The MoBridge will tap into the MOST optical system and provide an optical digital, stereo preamp signal. There is no "Line Out" from the head unit.

    However, if you use the MoBridge then it will bypass the microphone for the bluetooth telephone and voice recognition functions. This is true because the microphone in the overhead center console plugs directly into the Bose amplifier.

    The other option is to use a DSP processor or line converter to tap the amplified signal from the Bose amp and convert it to a preamp signal that you can pass to your aftermarket amps.
    This option retains full functionality of the MMI features.


    Based on my testing, the front midbass output from the Bose in the C7 models does not play any signal at or below 40Hz. I tested this will an oscilloscope.
    Only the subwoofer output plays that low as far as I can tell.
    Therefore, if you want to add a subwoofer then you will need to tap that subwoofer output. On the C7 models, the subwoofer wires are in Pin locations 5 & 17 of the T38 wire harness.

  7. #7
    Senior Member Three Rings
    Join Date
    Jul 26 2008
    AZ Member #
    31287
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia

    What model A6 are we talking about?

  8. #8
    Active Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Oct 06 2017
    AZ Member #
    407960
    Location
    Houston, Tx

    Any way you can post that Bose Wire Diagram again? The link is not working.

    Thank you!

  9. #9
    Stage 3 Forum Advertiser Four Rings Christian@enfig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 12 2004
    AZ Member #
    2759
    My Garage
    2013 CC Executive Edition VR6 3.6, 2003 GLI VR6, 2005 A4 cab 3.0 V6, 01 GTI VR6. Past 89 & 78 Golf
    Location
    Fort Lee, NJ

    Quote Originally Posted by dcc236 View Post
    What model A6 are we talking about?
    Same question here.
    EnfigCarStereo.com - iPod iPhone & Aux Specialists - Radio Replacement Specialists
    info@enfig.com
    201-490-5015
    FaceBook

  10. #10
    Senior Member Three Rings
    Join Date
    Aug 29 2013
    AZ Member #
    122005
    Location
    Charleston, SC

    Quote Originally Posted by Haste View Post
    Any way you can post that Bose Wire Diagram again? The link is not working.

    Thank you!
    The best advice I can give is to purchase a 24 hour membership to Audi ErWin. Go and enter your VIN number and then download every piece of info you can find, including the wire diagrams.
    2013 Audi S6 Ibis White, Black interior, LED headlights, 20" alloy wheels, Carbon Atlas inlays, Audi side assist

    Mods Bel STiR Plus, Blinder HP-905, BlackVue dash cams (front and rear), Black Optics grill, Black window trim, XPel Ultimate film, Modesta BC-03 glass coating

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


    © 2001-2017 Audizine, Audizine.com, and Driverzines.com
    Audizine is an independently owned and operated automotive enthusiast community and news website.
    Audi and the Audi logo(s) are copyright/trademark Audi AG. Audizine is not endorsed by or affiliated with Audi AG.