Audizine - An Automotive Enthusiast Community

Active Member Two Rings thesaint's Avatar
    AZ Member #
    My Garage
    Black 2003 Audi A4 1.8T

ESP and ABS lights on. No speedometer readout

Guest-only advertisement. Register or Log In now!
    I get the ESP and ABS lights on and the speedometer no longer works. I also hear a "whining" coming from the engine. When I go from reverse to drive (upon backing out of the drive way) I feel a small click in the gas pedal. It almost feels like a wheel is slipping.

I know there is other threads with similar problems, but i wanted to post this because I didnt read some of my symptoms.
    "I'am the son your parents wish they had"....
    I'm new to the Audi world

Senior Member Three Rings R3V3NANT's Avatar
    AZ Member #
    My Garage
    B6 A4 1.8TQ, B5.5 Passat 4M Variant,

From the research I did, it sounds like the ABS control module. Come to think of it, I had the exact same symptoms on my Saab, and that was the culprit as well. As for the clicking/whining, I'm not sure on that one, and not positive it's related.

Veteran Member Four Rings diagnosticator's Avatar
    AZ Member #

Scan the ABS controller for wheel speed sensor DTCs. Dirty sensors are a common cause of this symptom.
    Vorsprung durch Technik

Veteran Member Four Rings Dan1969's Avatar
    AZ Member #
    My Garage
    08 Silverado 2500HD 6.6 Diesel

Codes Codes Codes. Also is it FWD or Quattro?
    17 Jetta S 1.4T, 08 Silvy LTZ 6.6T CCSB
    Previous: 1997 VW Jetta, 2004 Audi A4 3.0Q6MT, 15 Audi A3 2.0T Q DSG

AZ Member #
    My Garage
    Black 2003 Audi A4 1.8T

Quote Originally Posted by Dan1969 View Post
    Codes Codes Codes. Also is it FWD or Quattro?