Audizine - An Automotive Enthusiast Community

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Veteran Member Three Rings Trev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 25 2007
    AZ Member #
    22840
    My Garage
    b6 a4tq, 95 Eagle Talon (Rip)
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada

    Map controlled thermostat fault code

    Guest-only advertisement. Register or Log In now!
    17701 - Map controlled engine cooling thermostat (F265): Short to plus
    P1293 - 001 - Upper limit exceeded


    This DTC keeps coming up. Any ideas as to what may be the cause?

    I'm guessing thermostat needs to be replaced? Just wanted to confirm with you guys first. This doesn't seem to be a common issue. Most people just replace them when they start to leak...
    Some Go, No show
    02 Qtip, Apr II+ 93Oct, tt-225 injectors, Ecode fmic, W/M Injection, Magnaflow 16601,TT225 Down Pipe, VMR test pipe, APR TIP, Forge 007, Vag-Com, Podi V2, RS4 LSB, ECS Snub, USP front lower, S4 Front Brakes, Slotted/Dimpled Rotors f/r, SS Lines f/r, 19x8.5 & 19x9.5 RPM 505's, RNS-E

    Wish List
    Custom fab intake heat shield, Custom fab system in trunk, Adjustable Coilovers, S4 blades, DTH side skirts

  2. #2
    Senior Member Three Rings POPO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 02 2008
    AZ Member #
    24821
    My Garage
    2001 Chevy Tahoe, 2005 Audi A4, RIP 2003 Audi A4
    Location
    Somerset, NJ
    Items for Sale

    You need to replace the thermostat housing with sensor. The sensor is bad. I just did mine the other day. When I took the thermostat housing out the sensor was all corroded. Ordered mine through Europaparts, like 80 bucks. There is also a writeup on how to change the housing which is spot on.
    2005 A4 1.8TQM - New South Vent Gauge|034 RSB|2.75" FMIC|GHL 2.5" Catback|PSi Concepts TD05H-20g|PSi Concepts Exhaust Manifold|Turbo XS EWG|Motoza tuned|
    RIP 2003 A4 1.8TQM

  3. #3
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Sep 15 2010
    AZ Member #
    64138
    Location
    massapequa ny
    Items for Sale

    can you just change sensor or is it built into housing?

    Quote Originally Posted by POPO View Post
    You need to replace the thermostat housing with sensor. The sensor is bad. I just did mine the other day. When I took the thermostat housing out the sensor was all corroded. Ordered mine through Europaparts, like 80 bucks. There is also a writeup on how to change the housing which is spot on.
    is it possible when i flushed coolant last month i screwed this up? will this damage car driving with this code?

    Control Module Part Number: 8E0 909 518 BC
    Component and/or Version: 1.8L R4/5VT G

    0010
    Software Coding: 0016751
    Work Shop Code: WSC 13873
    1 Fault Found:
    17700 - Map Controlled Engine Cooling Thermostat

    (F265): Open Circuit
    P1292 - 004 - No Signal/Communication -
    Last edited by juttin3; 09-15-2010 at 10:04 PM.

  4. #4
    Veteran Member Four Rings DownhillA4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 23 2008
    AZ Member #
    30226
    Location
    Around
    Items for Sale

    Quote Originally Posted by Trev View Post
    17701 - Map controlled engine cooling thermostat (F265): Short to plus
    P1293 - 001 - Upper limit exceeded


    This DTC keeps coming up. Any ideas as to what may be the cause?

    I'm guessing thermostat needs to be replaced? Just wanted to confirm with you guys first. This doesn't seem to be a common issue. Most people just replace them when they start to leak...
    Quote Originally Posted by POPO View Post
    You need to replace the thermostat housing with sensor. The sensor is bad. I just did mine the other day. When I took the thermostat housing out the sensor was all corroded. Ordered mine through Europaparts, like 80 bucks. There is also a writeup on how to change the housing which is spot on.

    Just vag-com'd my car tonight and got...

    Engine:
    17701
    P1293

    So I should change the thermostat housing, engine coolant temperature sensor behind the engine and their is another right next to the thermostat? So I should order 2 green coolant temp sensors?
    2015 Rally Team No Texting Donation Fund, Hope of Warrior Foundation

    "If you are a true automotive enthusiast whom loves their car,
    you learn to catch rides to parties and leave your car at home."- dougyfresh

  5. #5
    Veteran Member Four Rings old guy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 28 2006
    AZ Member #
    14483
    My Garage
    '09 CC VR6 Sport
    Location
    Western Maryland
    Items for Sale

    The thermostat has a heater, not a sensor. MAP controlled thermostat There are two sensors. The green four pin sensor on the back of the motor and the gray 2 pin sensor in the lower radiator hose.

  6. #6
    Established Member Two Rings Kodymfk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 07 2012
    AZ Member #
    94819
    My Garage
    Black B6 A4 340hp on meth, Blue B6 A4 Tip (turd)
    Location
    Lansing Michigan

    This could also cause high rpm at idle due to the t stat giving incorrect readings and or making the car think its constantly in warm up mode? I got this map controlled code but also noticed higher rpm at idle. My car is hanging around 1000 rpm now. When I kick on my a/c, it drops it back down to below 1000 rpm at idle.
    Stage 3+ on 22psi, 1.8T All the Way

  7. #7
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Nov 21 2011
    AZ Member #
    84241
    Location
    UK

    i have the same error code - can the green sensor be replaced to rectify this or as above does the whole thermostat need to be changed? Is there a link to the thread to swop it out?

  8. #8
    Veteran Member Four Rings old guy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 28 2006
    AZ Member #
    14483
    My Garage
    '09 CC VR6 Sport
    Location
    Western Maryland
    Items for Sale

    Quote Originally Posted by fla View Post
    i have the same error code - can the green sensor be replaced to rectify this or as above does the whole thermostat need to be changed? Is there a link to the thread to swop it out?
    Green sensor won't cause a mapped thermostat code. Here's a DIY for the t-stat: Clicky click

    Thanks to Matt

  9. #9
    Established Member Two Rings Kodymfk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 07 2012
    AZ Member #
    94819
    My Garage
    Black B6 A4 340hp on meth, Blue B6 A4 Tip (turd)
    Location
    Lansing Michigan

    The sensor in the t stat can't be removed. I think it may be a blue one, or a green one. I tried before sucking it up and buying the whole t stat unit for 100+$.
    Stage 3+ on 22psi, 1.8T All the Way

  10. #10
    Veteran Member Four Rings old guy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 28 2006
    AZ Member #
    14483
    My Garage
    '09 CC VR6 Sport
    Location
    Western Maryland
    Items for Sale

    Quote Originally Posted by Kodymfk View Post
    The sensor in the t stat can't be removed. I think it may be a blue one, or a green one. I tried before sucking it up and buying the whole t stat unit for 100+$.
    The thermostat doesn't have a sensor. It has a heater that the ECM uses to force the thermostat open sooner than the normal mechanical opening temperature.

  11. #11
    Established Member Two Rings Kodymfk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 07 2012
    AZ Member #
    94819
    My Garage
    Black B6 A4 340hp on meth, Blue B6 A4 Tip (turd)
    Location
    Lansing Michigan

    Quote Originally Posted by old guy View Post
    The thermostat doesn't have a sensor. It has a heater that the ECM uses to force the thermostat open sooner than the normal mechanical opening temperature.
    Ahh, I see. Ya, I had the same code. Tried to replace just the sensor or mechanical item connected to piece. Found out that wasn't possible and replaced the whole unit. Been good to go since.
    Stage 3+ on 22psi, 1.8T All the Way

  12. #12
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Nov 21 2011
    AZ Member #
    84241
    Location
    UK

    Quote Originally Posted by old guy View Post
    Green sensor won't cause a mapped thermostat code. Here's a DIY for the t-stat: Clicky click

    Thanks to Matt
    As usual great info, thanks OG. What would be the effect on running this with the fault as I wont have time to do this for a few weeks :( ?

  13. #13
    Senior Member Four Rings customa4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 07 2011
    AZ Member #
    73592
    My Garage
    02 A4 1.8T CVT, 02 A4 1.8TQ 5spd, 92 Geo Prizm
    Location
    CT

    K&N-Milltek HFC-Magnaflow Catback-APR snub mount-ER Sport FMIC-Forge TIP-Forge DV-Podi-034 Motor Mounts-034 Rear Sway/End Links-STaSIS Street Sport Coils-Bentley Manual

  14. #14
    Veteran Member Four Rings old guy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 28 2006
    AZ Member #
    14483
    My Garage
    '09 CC VR6 Sport
    Location
    Western Maryland
    Items for Sale

    Quote Originally Posted by fla View Post
    As usual great info, thanks OG. What would be the effect on running this with the fault as I wont have time to do this for a few weeks :( ?
    You should be OK. The mechanical portion of the thermostat should still function. You have just lost the ECM's ability to open it sooner under high load conditions. just drive your car gently (no excessive full throttle runs) and you should be fine. You may notice your cooling fans running more than usual but that's about it.



Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


    © 2001-2014 Audizine, Audizine.com, and Driverzines.com
    Audizine is an independently owned and operated automotive enthusiast community and news website.
    Audi and the Audi logo(s) are copyright/trademark Audi AG. Audizine is not endorsed by or affiliated with Audi AG.