Audizine - An Automotive Enthusiast Community

Results 1 to 23 of 23
  1. #1
    Senior Member Three Rings MOtown A4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 06 2008
    AZ Member #
    33893
    My Garage
    2001 Audi A4 1.8 T
    Location
    Shelby Twp. MIchigan

    Question Intake cam bearing cap torque specs

    Guest-only advertisement. Register or Log In now!
    Getting ready to replace my cam chain tensioner tomorrow after work. i've read through the passatworld DIY and a couple other threads amongst the 6 pages of threads searched and i have 2-3 different figures as the torque specs for the intake cam bearing caps. one thread said just over 7ft/lbs, another said 10ft/lbs, and i believe the passatworld DIY says 10nM. could someone please point me in the right direction?

  2. #2
    Veteran Member Four Rings revolution337's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 03 2009
    AZ Member #
    40692
    My Garage
    4.2 A4, mk4 jetta
    Location
    Pennsylvania

    edit:

    Life is too short to drive ugly cars.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Three Rings MOtown A4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 06 2008
    AZ Member #
    33893
    My Garage
    2001 Audi A4 1.8 T
    Location
    Shelby Twp. MIchigan

    Quote Originally Posted by revolution337 View Post
    that says its for the cylinder head cover though. would that be another name for valve cover? i'm looking for the specs for the 4 individual caps on the intake cam. i apologize if i'm confused, could someone confirm this?

  4. #4
    Veteran Member Four Rings revolution337's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 03 2009
    AZ Member #
    40692
    My Garage
    4.2 A4, mk4 jetta
    Location
    Pennsylvania

    your sources confused ft/lbs with Nm
    Life is too short to drive ugly cars.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Three Rings MOtown A4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 06 2008
    AZ Member #
    33893
    My Garage
    2001 Audi A4 1.8 T
    Location
    Shelby Twp. MIchigan

    heres the link for the DIY i was planning on using
    http://www.passatworld.com/forums/sh...d.php?t=215732
    also, will i have to mess with the cam position sensor? i have 25nM for the cam position sensor rotor ring to the camshaft. can someone please translate that figure to ft/lbs or confirm whether i have to mess with it or not?

  6. #6
    Senior Member Three Rings MOtown A4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 06 2008
    AZ Member #
    33893
    My Garage
    2001 Audi A4 1.8 T
    Location
    Shelby Twp. MIchigan

    thank you, so 7ft./lbs for the bearing caps for sure?

  7. #7
    Veteran Member Four Rings revolution337's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 03 2009
    AZ Member #
    40692
    My Garage
    4.2 A4, mk4 jetta
    Location
    Pennsylvania

    Quote Originally Posted by MOtown A4 View Post
    thank you, so 7ft./lbs for the bearing caps for sure?
    thats what bentley says.
    Life is too short to drive ugly cars.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Three Rings MOtown A4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 06 2008
    AZ Member #
    33893
    My Garage
    2001 Audi A4 1.8 T
    Location
    Shelby Twp. MIchigan

    Quote Originally Posted by revolution337 View Post
    thats what bentley says.
    thank you!

  9. #9
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Sep 11 2009
    AZ Member #
    47628
    My Garage
    A4 B7 2.0T MT, A4 B5 1.8 MT
    Location
    South Africa

    Does Bentley say the cam bearing caps bolts have to be replaced when the cams are taken out or not?

    And another question - when my mechanic replaced the cam chain tensioner awhile ago, he tightened those bolts more than the spec because he didn't have a torque wrench at the time. The car has been running like that for sometime now. I'm doing the VC gasket at the moment and the cover is open. Do you suggest to back out those bolts and re-tighten to 10Nm now or leave as they are, if the car has been running like that already?

  10. #10
    Veteran Member Four Rings BaseDrifter's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 18 2010
    AZ Member #
    59183
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Items for Sale

    Your mechanic didn't have a torque wrench? Who does internal engine work without a proper torque wrench?

    Aren't you removing the caps to replace the tensioner again anyways? And no, you do not need to replace the cap bolts.
    | Update thread / Dash Camera Channel / Carnivorous Plant Channel / DJ mixes |

    97 A4 1.8TQM: 18psi tune|Forge 007|034 HFC|Carbonio|A8 brakes/SS lines|JHM shifter linkage/bushing|eBay short shifter|Oil pressure/AWE boost gauge|S4 rear sway bar|Meyle HD CA/TRE|Neuspeed snub|HD motor/034 tranny mounts|

  11. #11
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Sep 11 2009
    AZ Member #
    47628
    My Garage
    A4 B7 2.0T MT, A4 B5 1.8 MT
    Location
    South Africa

    Quote Originally Posted by BaseDrifter View Post
    Your mechanic didn't have a torque wrench? Who does internal engine work without a proper torque wrench?

    Aren't you removing the caps to replace the tensioner again anyways? And no, you do not need to replace the cap bolts.
    He had to do a rush job afterhours to get the car going but that was sometime ago. And some mechanics are very accurate with the torques just by hand.

    I'm not replacing the tensioner again. Just the valve cover gasket and was wondering if I should re-torque the bolts to spec or leave as it is, if it's working.

  12. #12
    Veteran Member Four Rings BaseDrifter's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 18 2010
    AZ Member #
    59183
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Items for Sale

    Ah, I didn't see that you started this thread back in 2010. If the car has been running for 4 years, I wouldn't touch them.

    Bang out the valve cover gasket and seal 'er up.
    | Update thread / Dash Camera Channel / Carnivorous Plant Channel / DJ mixes |

    97 A4 1.8TQM: 18psi tune|Forge 007|034 HFC|Carbonio|A8 brakes/SS lines|JHM shifter linkage/bushing|eBay short shifter|Oil pressure/AWE boost gauge|S4 rear sway bar|Meyle HD CA/TRE|Neuspeed snub|HD motor/034 tranny mounts|

  13. #13
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Sep 11 2009
    AZ Member #
    47628
    My Garage
    A4 B7 2.0T MT, A4 B5 1.8 MT
    Location
    South Africa

    Quote Originally Posted by BaseDrifter View Post
    Ah, I didn't see that you started this thread back in 2010. If the car has been running for 4 years, I wouldn't touch them.

    Bang out the valve cover gasket and seal 'er up.
    Hey, I didn't start the thread. I was searching for the torque specs of the bolts and came across this thread. Just decided to ask in the same thread instead of starting a new one.

  14. #14
    Veteran Member Four Rings BaseDrifter's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 18 2010
    AZ Member #
    59183
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Items for Sale

    Well..both of your names start with M! :) My bad.

    Like I said, if the car has been running for awhile I wouldn't bother with the cam caps again. And while there are many mechanics who know what 7 ft lbs feels like, there are many who don't. I always trust a tool over a human for something as precise as the torque on a bearing cap.
    | Update thread / Dash Camera Channel / Carnivorous Plant Channel / DJ mixes |

    97 A4 1.8TQM: 18psi tune|Forge 007|034 HFC|Carbonio|A8 brakes/SS lines|JHM shifter linkage/bushing|eBay short shifter|Oil pressure/AWE boost gauge|S4 rear sway bar|Meyle HD CA/TRE|Neuspeed snub|HD motor/034 tranny mounts|

  15. #15
    Senior Member Four Rings GrapeBandit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 13 2010
    AZ Member #
    68228
    Location
    NJ/FL

    in order to get 7ft lbs on a torque wrench, it better be a quality one. thats way too little pressure for cheap torque wrenches to get accurate. with that being said, I never tq my cam caps down and never had issues. I know some will say that important because its an internal engine piece, but to each is own. main crank caps, rod bolts, flywheel bolts etc, I will tq.

    lmk ask you this, do you tq your intake manifold too? lol
    My president is green
    PCV? Just dump it on the ground!

  16. #16
    Veteran Member Four Rings BaseDrifter's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 18 2010
    AZ Member #
    59183
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Items for Sale

    Are you asking me? If so the answer is yes, I torque down every bolt to spec that I can reach with a torque wrench. It helps that nearly every bolt that goes into aluminum gets torqued to 7 ft lbs on the top of the engine, though there are a few exceptions.
    | Update thread / Dash Camera Channel / Carnivorous Plant Channel / DJ mixes |

    97 A4 1.8TQM: 18psi tune|Forge 007|034 HFC|Carbonio|A8 brakes/SS lines|JHM shifter linkage/bushing|eBay short shifter|Oil pressure/AWE boost gauge|S4 rear sway bar|Meyle HD CA/TRE|Neuspeed snub|HD motor/034 tranny mounts|

  17. #17
    Senior Member Four Rings GrapeBandit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 13 2010
    AZ Member #
    68228
    Location
    NJ/FL

    im asking everyone...lol...do you torque you throttle body? that goes into aluminum too
    My president is green
    PCV? Just dump it on the ground!

  18. #18
    Veteran Member Four Rings BaseDrifter's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 18 2010
    AZ Member #
    59183
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Items for Sale

    Yep, sure do, pretty sure it's 7 ft lbs.
    | Update thread / Dash Camera Channel / Carnivorous Plant Channel / DJ mixes |

    97 A4 1.8TQM: 18psi tune|Forge 007|034 HFC|Carbonio|A8 brakes/SS lines|JHM shifter linkage/bushing|eBay short shifter|Oil pressure/AWE boost gauge|S4 rear sway bar|Meyle HD CA/TRE|Neuspeed snub|HD motor/034 tranny mounts|

  19. #19
    Senior Member Four Rings GrapeBandit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 13 2010
    AZ Member #
    68228
    Location
    NJ/FL

    Quote Originally Posted by BaseDrifter View Post
    Yep, sure do, pretty sure it's 7 ft lbs.
    do you mid sharing what mind of tq wrench you have
    My president is green
    PCV? Just dump it on the ground!

  20. #20
    Veteran Member Four Rings BaseDrifter's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 18 2010
    AZ Member #
    59183
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Items for Sale

    A Craftsman 250 inch pound 3/8" drive torque wrench.
    | Update thread / Dash Camera Channel / Carnivorous Plant Channel / DJ mixes |

    97 A4 1.8TQM: 18psi tune|Forge 007|034 HFC|Carbonio|A8 brakes/SS lines|JHM shifter linkage/bushing|eBay short shifter|Oil pressure/AWE boost gauge|S4 rear sway bar|Meyle HD CA/TRE|Neuspeed snub|HD motor/034 tranny mounts|

  21. #21
    Senior Member Four Rings GrapeBandit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 13 2010
    AZ Member #
    68228
    Location
    NJ/FL

    Quote Originally Posted by BaseDrifter View Post
    A Craftsman 250 inch pound 3/8" drive torque wrench.
    not bad, but I wouldnt use that to tq anytbing thats important. craftsman is not what it used to be. all their stuff is cheap chinese made now a days. lol

    I dont even buy craftsman anymore, I break all their stuff. seems the same quality as harbor freight, just with a higher markup
    My president is green
    PCV? Just dump it on the ground!

  22. #22
    Veteran Member Four Rings BaseDrifter's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 18 2010
    AZ Member #
    59183
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Items for Sale

    They've served me well for the last 8 years, I've got 3 of their wrenches at different spec ranges. For more serious internal engine work I would get a higher quality wrench.
    | Update thread / Dash Camera Channel / Carnivorous Plant Channel / DJ mixes |

    97 A4 1.8TQM: 18psi tune|Forge 007|034 HFC|Carbonio|A8 brakes/SS lines|JHM shifter linkage/bushing|eBay short shifter|Oil pressure/AWE boost gauge|S4 rear sway bar|Meyle HD CA/TRE|Neuspeed snub|HD motor/034 tranny mounts|

  23. #23
    Senior Member Four Rings GrapeBandit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 13 2010
    AZ Member #
    68228
    Location
    NJ/FL

    Quote Originally Posted by BaseDrifter View Post
    They've served me well for the last 8 years, I've got 3 of their wrenches at different spec ranges. For more serious internal engine work I would get a higher quality wrench.
    you might be safe if its from 8yrs ago. im sure the quality is better than one that they have on theor shelves now.
    yea, for internal engine work I use snap-on. have mac tools one also
    My president is green
    PCV? Just dump it on the ground!



Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


    © 2001-2014 Audizine, Audizine.com, and Driverzines.com
    Audizine is an independently owned and operated automotive enthusiast community and news website.
    Audi and the Audi logo(s) are copyright/trademark Audi AG. Audizine is not endorsed by or affiliated with Audi AG.