Audizine - An Automotive Enthusiast Community

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Veteran Member Three Rings manhattanprjkt8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 22 2008
    AZ Member #
    30198
    My Garage
    Lots of blown out mounain bikes
    Location
    pennsyltucky

    Camshaft position sensor - Can it go bad from misfires?

    Guest-only advertisement. Register or Log In now!
    So question to everyone can the camshaft position sensor go bad from repetitive misfires? I am facing a serious repair for my S and need to get educated before I sign up to pay for it...

  2. #2
    Active Member Three Rings AndyGs4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 26 2010
    AZ Member #
    53977
    Location
    Right here.

    I don't think so (?)

    But a bad cam position can cause random misfires....
    2004 S4
    JHM Headers - FI Catback - K&W Coilovers - JHM B7 LW Flywheel - JHM LW Pulley - Apikol Snub - 19" Neuspeed RS10s - Stern MM

    Audis - 86 5000CS Turbo sold at 150K - 95 A6 sold at 177K - 00 Jetta 2.0 got hit at 220K

    Resto - 55 Chev3100 Stepside - 68 Mustang Coupe - 73 Mach 1

    ...w.w.w...e.u.r.o.a.d.d.i.c.t.i.o.n...n.e.t...

  3. #3
    Veteran Member Three Rings handyvorb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 31 2009
    AZ Member #
    38120
    My Garage
    '04 S4, '95 Eagle Talon MSnS
    Location
    Huntsville, AL

    Quote Originally Posted by AndyGs4 View Post
    But a bad cam position can cause random misfires....
    This.

    ...and typically that entire bank of cylinders will misfire somewhat evenly (misfire counters can be viewed with scan tool/VAG-COM).
    Joel Baldridge
    Stage 4 Audi Technician (Master Guild Certified)

  4. #4
    Veteran Member Three Rings manhattanprjkt8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 22 2008
    AZ Member #
    30198
    My Garage
    Lots of blown out mounain bikes
    Location
    pennsyltucky

    so what would you guess estimate a bad cam position costs to fix

  5. #5
    Veteran Member Three Rings
    Join Date
    Feb 01 2008
    AZ Member #
    24758
    Location
    ann arbor, MI

    Quote Originally Posted by manhattanprjkt8 View Post
    so what would you guess estimate a bad cam position costs to fix
    I think you can replace those with the motor still in; they're sitting on the back upper timing covers. Shouldn't be too bad.

  6. #6
    Veteran Member Three Rings manhattanprjkt8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 22 2008
    AZ Member #
    30198
    My Garage
    Lots of blown out mounain bikes
    Location
    pennsyltucky

    ok, the dealer seems to be unsure of what to do with it...

    Had the car in there 4 times in 3 weeks and they are telling me now the motor needs pulled to do some of this stuff, still waiting on a call to hear specifics on what needs completed.

    1st trip - coil packs clear codes
    2nd trip - misfire cylinder 3 replace injector and clean rails, added fuel cleaner
    3rd trip - clear codes, engine light back on flashing at idle, they told me to run the gas through it.
    4th trip - back with flashing light, need motor pulled, something is up

    i

  7. #7
    Active Member Three Rings AndyGs4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 26 2010
    AZ Member #
    53977
    Location
    Right here.

    Well, if the cam position sensor is bad, I think that can be done without having to pull the engine.

    If the cam position sensor is reading correctly and you in fact have a bad cam position, that is going to require the engine to come out for a timing service. You either have a chain/tensioner problem, or more likely you need the cam adjusters replaced.
    2004 S4
    JHM Headers - FI Catback - K&W Coilovers - JHM B7 LW Flywheel - JHM LW Pulley - Apikol Snub - 19" Neuspeed RS10s - Stern MM

    Audis - 86 5000CS Turbo sold at 150K - 95 A6 sold at 177K - 00 Jetta 2.0 got hit at 220K

    Resto - 55 Chev3100 Stepside - 68 Mustang Coupe - 73 Mach 1

    ...w.w.w...e.u.r.o.a.d.d.i.c.t.i.o.n...n.e.t...

  8. #8
    Registered Member One Ring
    Join Date
    Jun 25 2010
    AZ Member #
    60702
    Location
    holland michigan

    I hate to be the barrier of bad news but just telling you what happened to my s4. I had the same problems with my car. I'm guessing yours is also burning quiet a bit of oil? Probably going through 9 quarts every 3 weeks depending on how much you drive it. You also have that idle problem when you stop at a stop light. The car starts to shake and the rpms start to rev up when you have your foot on the brake. Every once in a while the car mis-fires and you are running on 4 or 5 cylinders. Well one day my car just broke down and was running on about 2 cylinders. We got it towed and brought to the shop. They took the entire engine out (a 36 hour job to take it out and put it in). After that they took a look at it, all of my pistons were scored up, my rods were shot and there was scoring in all of my bohrs. We tried to clean out the block and had no success. We bought a SHORTBLOCK FROM THE DEALER FOR $7500.00!!!!! This was the 3rd one left in the country! I also had to get a bunch of small stupid tools and ended up at about 9k in total plus 4k for labor.. All in all it was a 13k problem for me! FML!!! Oh and I forgot to tell you about the idling problem.. That was a problem with the engine, there is a small diamond ring you need that prevents it from rubbing. Hope this was helpful

  9. #9
    Active Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Aug 13 2009
    AZ Member #
    46370
    My Garage
    05 F150
    Location
    Long Island

    Any updates on the misfires as I am experiencing similar symptoms. My car is currently awaiting diagnosis at the mechanics.

    Quote Originally Posted by manhattanprjkt8 View Post
    ok, the dealer seems to be unsure of what to do with it...

    Had the car in there 4 times in 3 weeks and they are telling me now the motor needs pulled to do some of this stuff, still waiting on a call to hear specifics on what needs completed.

    1st trip - coil packs clear codes
    2nd trip - misfire cylinder 3 replace injector and clean rails, added fuel cleaner
    3rd trip - clear codes, engine light back on flashing at idle, they told me to run the gas through it.
    4th trip - back with flashing light, need motor pulled, something is up

    i

  10. #10
    Active Member Two Rings lagadula's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 06 2010
    AZ Member #
    54594
    Location
    Poland

    It could be camshaft adjuster ..... I'm afraid its happening to me also...
    2003 brilliant black S4 B6 Avant



Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


    © 2001-2014 Audizine, Audizine.com, and Driverzines.com
    Audizine is an independently owned and operated automotive enthusiast community and news website.
    Audi and the Audi logo(s) are copyright/trademark Audi AG. Audizine is not endorsed by or affiliated with Audi AG.