Audizine - An Automotive Enthusiast Community

Results 1 to 23 of 23
  1. #1
    Senior Member Three Rings A4-B6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 09 2009
    AZ Member #
    50484
    My Garage
    2011 S5 Prestige Briliant Blk/Pearl
    Location
    N.CALI

    Tire pressure sensors

    Guest-only advertisement. Register or Log In now!
    Anyone ever use the cheaper one from like ECS? OEM is almost $100 each vs $45 for the non OEM. How does everyone else solve this?


    Kelvin
    SOLD
    Nogaro 2001.5 S4
    JHM built
    12.1 @116 MPH

    2011 S5 Prestige
    https://imgur.com/a/YKQww#0
    Fast Intentions exhaust, Euro tail lights, RS5 front grill w/fogs, JHM 382mm BBK, Lightweight disc x4, JHM tune, VOLK G2's, JHM Stage3 clutch, JHM Supercharger kit, JHM HFC's.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Four Rings Chanman94's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 09 2014
    AZ Member #
    251087
    My Garage
    05 Honda CRV, 10 Honda Civic, 15 Subaru Impreza
    Location
    Calgary, AB, Canada

    I thought TPMS was ABS based so we didn't need sensors? Iirc it was only the 08 and 09 models that used the sensors.
    - Richard

    2010 Audi A4 - Monza Silver | 6AT | S-Line


    BBS CH-R | LED Bulbs | Revo Stg II | StopTech Rotors | Akebono Pads | H&R Coilovers | aFe Pro-dry S Air Filter | EuroCode Transmission Mount | RS4 Grille | Caractere CF Spoiler | EuroCode Turbo Inlet Hose | RS4 Pedals | SPM HFC | SPM Downpipe | AWE Quad Exhaust

    Soon: EuroCode Alu Kreuz | Carbon Fiber Mirror Covers


  3. #3
    Established Member Four Rings
    Join Date
    May 20 2015
    AZ Member #
    333378
    My Garage
    Audi S5 Deep Sea Blue Pearl
    Location
    PA

    Quote Originally Posted by Chanman94 View Post
    I thought TPMS was ABS based so we didn't need sensors? Iirc it was only the 08 and 09 models that used the sensors.
    I set the tire pressure thing in my MMI for my 2010 S5. I don't think it does anything lol. It won't notify me when it is low. Maybe I'm missing something, kinda useless to me anyway as I check my tire pressure often up the street at the gas station. You just set the air pump digitally and fill, easy. Plus it's free :)


    Sent from my iPhone using Audizine mobile app

  4. #4
    Senior Member Four Rings b8audis4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 06 2013
    AZ Member #
    128760
    Location
    Ohio
    Items for Sale

    Yeah, doesn't use TPMS. Only uses the abs sensors to sense rotations and thus if you need to put air in the tire.
    2011 Audi S4 - Ibis - Magma - Premium Plus - XPEL - STIR PLUS - Anti Laser Priority - AWE Resonated Exhaust - Ecodes - Alu Kruez - BBS CH-R (Mops)

  5. #5
    Senior Member Three Rings A4-B6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 09 2009
    AZ Member #
    50484
    My Garage
    2011 S5 Prestige Briliant Blk/Pearl
    Location
    N.CALI

    My 2011 turns on the light and tells me which wheel is low. I see the light about twice a year as the weather changes and I'll need to reset the monitoring pressure. Are you guys sure there's no sensor under the stem? I don't mind skipping them, but don't want to deal with MMI warnings either.

    https://www.ecstuning.com/Audi-B8_S5...ssure/ES11575/

    KM
    SOLD
    Nogaro 2001.5 S4
    JHM built
    12.1 @116 MPH

    2011 S5 Prestige
    https://imgur.com/a/YKQww#0
    Fast Intentions exhaust, Euro tail lights, RS5 front grill w/fogs, JHM 382mm BBK, Lightweight disc x4, JHM tune, VOLK G2's, JHM Stage3 clutch, JHM Supercharger kit, JHM HFC's.

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by A4-B6 View Post
    My 2011 turns on the light and tells me which wheel is low. I see the light about twice a year as the weather changes and I'll need to reset the monitoring pressure. Are you guys sure there's no sensor under the stem? I don't mind skipping them, but don't want to deal with MMI warnings either.

    https://www.ecstuning.com/Audi-B8_S5...ssure/ES11575/

    KM
    no sensor on 2010+, car cant tell what tire is low. Are you sure your 2011 points out the tire, that would not be possible, unless someone retrofitted sensors.
    spd cloth fastest cleaning cloth in the world.

    AdamsPolishes Use Mops10 for 10% off your order


    13 S6 | 15 Q5


  7. #7
    Established Member Four Rings
    Join Date
    May 20 2015
    AZ Member #
    333378
    My Garage
    Audi S5 Deep Sea Blue Pearl
    Location
    PA

    Tire pressure sensors

    Quote Originally Posted by sirmium View Post
    no sensor on 2010+, car cant tell what tire is low. Are you sure your 2011 points out the tire, that would not be possible, unless someone retrofitted sensors.
    I found that out after I set it numerous times via the MMI and doesn't warn me when it's goes under a certain psi. Man no Tire pressure sensor or auto folding mirrors on the 2010+ :(

    Weird it's still a option in the MMI & tells me to stand still to store the pressure lol.


    Sent from my iPhone using Audizine mobile app

  8. #8
    Senior Member Three Rings A4-B6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 09 2009
    AZ Member #
    50484
    My Garage
    2011 S5 Prestige Briliant Blk/Pearl
    Location
    N.CALI

    I just snagged this from the 2011 S5 sales brochure. A few month back I went out for lunch and the warning went off on me. I stopped and looked around then just reset thinking all would be well. After having lunch it went off again but this time when I checked I had a flat... My car definitely seems to have this option.

    SOLD
    Nogaro 2001.5 S4
    JHM built
    12.1 @116 MPH

    2011 S5 Prestige
    https://imgur.com/a/YKQww#0
    Fast Intentions exhaust, Euro tail lights, RS5 front grill w/fogs, JHM 382mm BBK, Lightweight disc x4, JHM tune, VOLK G2's, JHM Stage3 clutch, JHM Supercharger kit, JHM HFC's.

  9. #9
    to make it clear, all cars have TPMS, its required by law (FMVSS), but there is few different executions.

    1. Tire pressure sensor in the tire that sends signal wirelessly back to the car what the pressure is. (B8 2008,09)
    -on top of this there are two different systems, basic one that can only tell that one(or more) tire is empty and premium system that can point out exactly what tire is empty. B8 had basic one in the past
    2. ABS is measuring speed and rotation of the wheel to predict tire pressure with some smart software. (B8 2010+)
    -this system can only point out that one(or more) tire is empty, not exact one.

    Pros
    #1 more accurate
    #2 cheaper and saves small amount of weight, pro when switching winter/summer/track tires

    Cons
    #1 easy to brake when changing tires, need more sets as you are switching winter/summer, if you keep car for long enough eventually battery will die and you will need new set of sensor(sealed batteries), more expensive
    #2 not as accurate
    spd cloth fastest cleaning cloth in the world.

    AdamsPolishes Use Mops10 for 10% off your order


    13 S6 | 15 Q5


  10. #10
    Senior Member Three Rings A4-B6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 09 2009
    AZ Member #
    50484
    My Garage
    2011 S5 Prestige Briliant Blk/Pearl
    Location
    N.CALI

    My buddies RS5 did this today. I guess RS5's have the sensor?

    SOLD
    Nogaro 2001.5 S4
    JHM built
    12.1 @116 MPH

    2011 S5 Prestige
    https://imgur.com/a/YKQww#0
    Fast Intentions exhaust, Euro tail lights, RS5 front grill w/fogs, JHM 382mm BBK, Lightweight disc x4, JHM tune, VOLK G2's, JHM Stage3 clutch, JHM Supercharger kit, JHM HFC's.

  11. #11
    Established Member Three Rings yjypm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 08 2015
    AZ Member #
    360676
    Location
    Los Angeles

    I remember when my rear right tire got a nail in it MMI told me the exact tire being underinflated, but l am sure that my car doesn't have any sensors as when I changed my rims the shop said I didnt have any so they didnt have to transfer the old sensors to the new rims.
    '14 Estoril Blue []S5 P+
    | B&O | Sports Diff | B&W Nappa | Nav |
    Mods: | EPL DP+DSG | Ratio: 3.139 | P&P TB | Revo SC Cooler | Ecode Head+Tail | BBS CH-R | Bilstein B12 Pro-Kit | Vegas Yellow RS5 BBK | AWE Touring | S-FLO Intake | Led | CR-15 | 034 Rear ARB+Links | AluKruez | ECS Trans+Diff Inserts | Apikol Diff Mount | VCDS | P3 |

  12. #12
    Active Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Jul 07 2014
    AZ Member #
    262351
    Location
    Calgary, AB, Canada

    Yeah the TPMS is sensed through rotation, there are no physical sensors in each wheel. I never put any sensors in my winter tires and they work still. Also, I'm pretty sure it can detect which tire is low, I've had a nail in mine before too and it pointed it out.
    2013 S5 Premium 6MT

  13. #13
    Senior Member Two Rings 15DGR V6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 09 2009
    AZ Member #
    37249
    My Garage
    2014 Audi RS5
    Location
    Cleona, PA
    Items for Sale

    Even using the ABS sensors, it knows which corner of the car has an under-inflated tire.

  14. #14
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Sep 27 2015
    AZ Member #
    358204
    Location
    cincinnati

    Had the same sensor go off , not even 10 miles with new tires installed. Checked inflation on all the tires and restored psi in mmi.

  15. #15
    Senior Member Three Rings jschrauwen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 08 2013
    AZ Member #
    120617
    My Garage
    08 A5 3.2 QTip, 00 A4 2.8 QTip, 90 300ZX TT 572whp 590wtq, Ducati TT2
    Location
    Frankford, Ontario, Canada

    It's a shame, but it seems most are either not understanding you or are completely disregarding your insightful and spot-on characterization of the Audi TPMS system.
    You can take a horse to water, but ........


    Quote Originally Posted by sirmium View Post
    to make it clear, all cars have TPMS, its required by law (FMVSS), but there is few different executions.

    1. Tire pressure sensor in the tire that sends signal wirelessly back to the car what the pressure is. (B8 2008,09)
    -on top of this there are two different systems, basic one that can only tell that one(or more) tire is empty and premium system that can point out exactly what tire is empty. B8 had basic one in the past
    2. ABS is measuring speed and rotation of the wheel to predict tire pressure with some smart software. (B8 2010+)
    -this system can only point out that one(or more) tire is empty, not exact one.

    Pros
    #1 more accurate
    #2 cheaper and saves small amount of weight, pro when switching winter/summer/track tires

    Cons
    #1 easy to brake when changing tires, need more sets as you are switching winter/summer, if you keep car for long enough eventually battery will die and you will need new set of sensor(sealed batteries), more expensive
    #2 not as accurate
    2008 A5|Ice Silver|3.2 QTip|Premium Pkg|Technology Pkg|B&O with JL10W0-4 sub|15/20mm spacers|HID Foglights|LED - Front turn, reverse, license and interior|RS5 grill|AWE/K&N Intake|Quad tipped OEM muffler mod|2015 Euro-spec FL-LED Tail lights|CR-15 Strut Bar
    To be installed: AFS-1 pre-facelift Ecode (Euro) headlights

  16. #16
    Senior Member Three Rings jschrauwen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 08 2013
    AZ Member #
    120617
    My Garage
    08 A5 3.2 QTip, 00 A4 2.8 QTip, 90 300ZX TT 572whp 590wtq, Ducati TT2
    Location
    Frankford, Ontario, Canada

    sirmium - I could use your insight as to the TPMS replacement process.
    I have 8 new TPMS sensors to be install. 4 for my oem wheels where I believe their batteries are beginning to fail and 4 for my winter wheels which never had any.
    I could use the broad strokes (or a link to such) as far as the replacement process goes. I believe I read that new sensors have to be programmed first and subsequently coded in via VCDS prior to install? Is this correct? I like to be a bit knowledgeable on this so I'm not taken to the cleaners when I go to my local Audi shop.
    Cheers

    15977338_10154350404203613_4087424888749673974_n.jpg 16003051_10154350404453613_636360174283366912_n.jpg
    2008 A5|Ice Silver|3.2 QTip|Premium Pkg|Technology Pkg|B&O with JL10W0-4 sub|15/20mm spacers|HID Foglights|LED - Front turn, reverse, license and interior|RS5 grill|AWE/K&N Intake|Quad tipped OEM muffler mod|2015 Euro-spec FL-LED Tail lights|CR-15 Strut Bar
    To be installed: AFS-1 pre-facelift Ecode (Euro) headlights

  17. #17
    Senior Member Three Rings PEM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 17 2014
    AZ Member #
    264857
    Location
    NoVA

    I've set mine a few times in the RS but it has not detected changes even when the PSI gets low when it gets cold. Everytime I go to the settings it asks me to store a new one. Maybe I'm doing something wrong.

  18. #18
    Quote Originally Posted by jschrauwen View Post
    sirmium - I could use your insight as to the TPMS replacement process.
    I have 8 new TPMS sensors to be install. 4 for my oem wheels where I believe their batteries are beginning to fail and 4 for my winter wheels which never had any.
    I could use the broad strokes (or a link to such) as far as the replacement process goes. I believe I read that new sensors have to be programmed first and subsequently coded in via VCDS prior to install? Is this correct? I like to be a bit knowledgeable on this so I'm not taken to the cleaners when I go to my local Audi shop.
    Cheers
    you are correct, every sensor has it's own ID number (looks like it's printed on top in your pic). In order for vehicle to know what sensors are on your car(and not pick up random cars driving by) you have to somehow tell it ID number. I have never changed it myself on Audi, but i believe it can be done through VAGCOM. Our cars dont have premium tpms (one that call tell exact tire), so it's not important which number you enter in what spot.
    spd cloth fastest cleaning cloth in the world.

    AdamsPolishes Use Mops10 for 10% off your order


    13 S6 | 15 Q5


  19. #19
    btw if you are in a need of replacement TPMS sensors , buy Redi Sensor https://www.redi-sensor.com/ . VDO(Redi sensor) is Continental company for aftermarket sensors, so basically same performance as your OEM at fraction of cost. BTW. Siemens VDO sensors that you have are essentially Continental sensors, Conti acquired Siemens automotive in 2007.
    spd cloth fastest cleaning cloth in the world.

    AdamsPolishes Use Mops10 for 10% off your order


    13 S6 | 15 Q5


  20. #20
    Senior Member Three Rings jschrauwen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 08 2013
    AZ Member #
    120617
    My Garage
    08 A5 3.2 QTip, 00 A4 2.8 QTip, 90 300ZX TT 572whp 590wtq, Ducati TT2
    Location
    Frankford, Ontario, Canada

    Quote Originally Posted by sirmium View Post
    you are correct, every sensor has it's own ID number (looks like it's printed on top in your pic). In order for vehicle to know what sensors are on your car(and not pick up random cars driving by) you have to somehow tell it ID number. I have never changed it myself on Audi, but i believe it can be done through VAGCOM. Our cars dont have premium tpms (one that call tell exact tire), so it's not important which number you enter in what spot.
    This is most excellent. So my research wasn't too too far off. lol
    Yes, I see all 8 of my new sensors have their own unique ID #. This ID # is what I would have to input into VCDS, correct? I suspect that VCDS will provide the requisite prompts for inputting these ID#'s? Is this the total extent of programming these sensors aside from resetting my pressure levels again through the MMI?
    Sorry for such basic questions as my Audi go-to guy is not 100% fluent with all the B8 VCDS nuances. I provide him with all of the necessary long coding info and he knows how to input it. Kind of like a team effort if you will. lol
    I have lived with that annoying TPMS cluster warning for over a year and have done the MMI reset thing and the code clearing with VCDS numerous times but it always returns right away. Safe to assume the batteries are/were dying given their age and since I have none in my winter wheels, it only seemed logical to get all 8 done at the same time. Cost efficient if the shop is doing all at the same time.




    Quote Originally Posted by sirmium View Post
    btw if you are in a need of replacement TPMS sensors , buy Redi Sensor https://www.redi-sensor.com/ . VDO(Redi sensor) is Continental company for aftermarket sensors, so basically same performance as your OEM at fraction of cost. BTW. Siemens VDO sensors that you have are essentially Continental sensors, Conti acquired Siemens automotive in 2007.
    Ahhh, excellent. Thank You!
    This is all good-to-know stuff that I like to store for future reference.

    Full disclosure though. I got all of my sensors online from Asia for quite cheap even though they say "Made in Mexico" stamped on them. The "Made in Mexico" aspect is also noted in your redi-sensor link which gives me a better feeling on quality of these very inexpensive sensors.
    2008 A5|Ice Silver|3.2 QTip|Premium Pkg|Technology Pkg|B&O with JL10W0-4 sub|15/20mm spacers|HID Foglights|LED - Front turn, reverse, license and interior|RS5 grill|AWE/K&N Intake|Quad tipped OEM muffler mod|2015 Euro-spec FL-LED Tail lights|CR-15 Strut Bar
    To be installed: AFS-1 pre-facelift Ecode (Euro) headlights

  21. #21
    Senior Member Three Rings jschrauwen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 08 2013
    AZ Member #
    120617
    My Garage
    08 A5 3.2 QTip, 00 A4 2.8 QTip, 90 300ZX TT 572whp 590wtq, Ducati TT2
    Location
    Frankford, Ontario, Canada

    Quote Originally Posted by PEM View Post
    I've set mine a few times in the RS but it has not detected changes even when the PSI gets low when it gets cold. Everytime I go to the settings it asks me to store a new one. Maybe I'm doing something wrong.
    What year?
    The A/S/RS5 switched from individual wheel (valve stem type) sensors to using the ABS sensors instead around the 09/10 years.
    The ABS system looks for a minimum difference in rotations between wheels to detect if one or more wheels are under inflated. A less accurate method of detection then the older individual wheel sensors.
    In your particular situation, safe to assume all tires may have dropped their pressure equally due to the colder weather so the ABS system will naturally not see any individual difference/discrepancy. I'm not exactly sure 100% if there's a minimum temp threshold that you can input via the MMI for the ABS/TPMS sensor type.
    2008 A5|Ice Silver|3.2 QTip|Premium Pkg|Technology Pkg|B&O with JL10W0-4 sub|15/20mm spacers|HID Foglights|LED - Front turn, reverse, license and interior|RS5 grill|AWE/K&N Intake|Quad tipped OEM muffler mod|2015 Euro-spec FL-LED Tail lights|CR-15 Strut Bar
    To be installed: AFS-1 pre-facelift Ecode (Euro) headlights

  22. #22
    Established Member Four Rings HazeMyth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 17 2015
    AZ Member #
    343053
    Location
    Colorado

    I've also heard that with ABS based systems, differences in tread wear and both trigger TPMS or cause a misreporting of TPMS entirely (wrong tire displayed as low). I recently had this issue, actually. My TPMS reported that I had a low passenger rear tire. It was actually my driver rear tire that was low. Months before this, I had to have a tire replaced due to nails in it. I was supposedly within spec on tread to throw a brand new tire on. Well, I was within spec according to the information at that tire store, but the Audi dealership told me that the uneven wear on my tires and misreporting of TPMS was caused by my new tire not actually being within their specs. They said it wasn't severe, but it was off just enough to create the misreporting issue.
    2013 Audi S5
    2011 Toyota Tacoma TRD Sport
    2003 Evolution VIII (Cammed, etc)
    2004 Subaru STI - Stg. 2 (Sold)

  23. #23
    Senior Member Three Rings PEM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 17 2014
    AZ Member #
    264857
    Location
    NoVA

    Quote Originally Posted by jschrauwen View Post
    What year?
    The A/S/RS5 switched from individual wheel (valve stem type) sensors to using the ABS sensors instead around the 09/10 years.
    The ABS system looks for a minimum difference in rotations between wheels to detect if one or more wheels are under inflated. A less accurate method of detection then the older individual wheel sensors.
    In your particular situation, safe to assume all tires may have dropped their pressure equally due to the colder weather so the ABS system will naturally not see any individual difference/discrepancy. I'm not exactly sure 100% if there's a minimum temp threshold that you can input via the MMI for the ABS/TPMS sensor type.
    2015. I would have thought that too but one of my tire pressures was a good couple degrees off from the others. I haven't bothered with it lately though since I check my tire pressure and pump them up to spec every other month or so.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


    © 2001-2017 Audizine, Audizine.com, and Driverzines.com
    Audizine is an independently owned and operated automotive enthusiast community and news website.
    Audi and the Audi logo(s) are copyright/trademark Audi AG. Audizine is not endorsed by or affiliated with Audi AG.