Audizine - An Automotive Enthusiast Community

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Jul 11 2007
    AZ Member #
    19466
    Location
    San jose

    HELP! Transmission control unit reprogramming

    Guest-only advertisement. Register or Log In now!
    I was told by the dealership that my transmission control unit needs to be reprogrammed for it to work with my car, does anyone know where i can take it to be reprogrammed? and at what cost?

  2. #2
    Veteran Member Four Rings dougyfresh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 03 2005
    AZ Member #
    9070
    My Garage
    audi, chevy, subaru, ford, lots and lots of bicycles
    Location
    connecticut

    Re: HELP! Transmission control unit reprogramming

    What year car?

    What engine?

    What type of transmission (assuming auto)?

    What did you do to your car that requires it to be reprogrammed?
    -Doug



    2001 A4 Avant [silver on black]
    2002 A4 Avant [denim blue on platinum/black]

  3. #3
    Veteran Member Four Rings widgget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 18 2007
    AZ Member #
    23464
    My Garage
    2003 A4 1.8TQ Stage 3 & 2002 Ski-Doo MXZ 800
    Location
    New Hampshire

    Re: HELP! Transmission control unit reprogramming

    yeah, we need some more info.....

    assuming it's an auto.

    they might be trying to tell you that the TCU needs to be updated if you have a performance flash on your ECU, since the TCU does not know about the change in the power band the tranny shifts at the wrong points. Nothing you can do about this but maybe get a custom flash for your TCU. if this IS what he is referring to it's just the way it is for the most part since only the very high-end models also get a TCU flahs with the ECU flash (S6 and some others). just use the manual shift mode and you won't have problems.

    of course...... i could be totally off base with that and you just have a bad TCU and your dealer isn't talking about any of what i just covered.
    03 Tiptronic A4 1.8TQ - REVO STAGE 3
    -*- Click For Car Details -*-

    • WANT TO BUY: Oettinger Side Skirts (not replicas) & Ring "Holder" For Mesh Grill.

    • FOR SALE:

  4. #4
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Jul 11 2007
    AZ Member #
    19466
    Location
    San jose

    Re: HELP! Transmission control unit reprogramming

    sorry i was in a rush earlier
    it's a 2005 1.8t fwd auto cvt
    I just got the car recently and it started doing that. For the most part, I think the car is stock.

  5. #5
    Veteran Member Three Rings phantom b6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 02 2008
    AZ Member #
    27194
    Location
    LA

    Re: HELP! Transmission control unit reprogramming

    Ah yes.. I had the same issue. The TCU went bad, the gear display in the cluster would disappear or blink at all times.. Sometimes reverse wouldn't work.

    Audi replaced the TCU... cost $3000. I only paid $300 thanks to CarMax Coverage
    APR 1+ | 380cc Injectors | APR TIP | FMIC | Snow Performance Methanol Injection | ATP 3" Downpipe

  6. #6
    Established Member Two Rings tarzjdm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 15 2007
    AZ Member #
    19549
    My Garage
    B6 1.8t FWd
    Location
    san dayGo

    Re: HELP! Transmission control unit reprogramming

    My car is at the shop right now getting my TCU replaced. I'm not 100% sure, but I think it should come programmed since its a Vin specific item... good luck with that. I got lucky my extended warranty is covering it...



Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


    © 2001-2014 Audizine, Audizine.com, and Driverzines.com
    Audizine is an independently owned and operated automotive enthusiast community and news website.
    Audi and the Audi logo(s) are copyright/trademark Audi AG. Audizine is not endorsed by or affiliated with Audi AG.