Audizine - An Automotive Enthusiast Community

Registered Member Two Rings
    AZ Member #

Bleed Coolant System

Guest-only advertisement. Register or Log In now!
    Hey everyone,
    Could someone link me to a DIY for bleeding the coolant system in a B5 A4 V6. I have an air pocket in the system and everything is getting screwy. I've searched all over the site (yes, I have used the "search" function) and have not yet been able to find an appropriate DIY. I am somewhat mechanically retarded, so pictures would be amazing. Thanks!

Veteran Member Four Rings Seerlah's Avatar
    AZ Member #

Re: Bleed Coolant System

I am no expert as someone will chimmey in and either correct or add onto this. There is actually an addative you can purchase to add to coolant that is supposed to clear out any air bubbles in your coolant system (can get at autozone). I just don't know if people would recommend that for our cars.

If you mean you want to do a complete coolant flush (or bleed as you say to get air bubble), there is a DIY. Just make sure you have a container that can hold maybe 2 gallons if you just want to reuse old coolant. http://audizine.com/forum/showthread.php?t=73219

AZ Member #

Well apparently there is a bleed valve somewhere on the coolant line that you open. After that you wait for the coolant to run out; once it runs you know there are no more air bubbles. Problem is I can't find that darn valve.

AZ Member #

Pardon, I am not too knowledgable about cars. But I did a search and it says the bleed valve is right on/near the sensor.

Veteran Member Four Rings Mawhitey's Avatar
    AZ Member #
    My Garage
    99 AJL TQS

There is a bleed hole on the one heater hose located on the bulkhead.if you undo the clip and slide it off slightly till the bleed hole is visable,when the engine is running it will bleed the air out till coolant starts to come out,then push the pipe back on,job done
    -Mark -

.1985cc Stroker, GTRS Eliminator, ME7, Miltek, and other goodies