PDA

View Full Version : FAQ: For Those Who Wish To Be Knowledgeable When It Comes To Being Different With Wheels

mr shickadance
03-24-2011, 08:03 AM
THIS IS LONG…..BUT IT WILL ANSWER YOUR QUESTIONS AND WILL BE A BETTER PERSON AFTER READING IT
Introduction/ Preface

There seems to be a lot of misinformation about wheels and how to go about wondering if a particular wheel will fit and what needs to be done to make a wheel fit with as little running issues as possible. This guide is here to help complete newbs gain some knowledge on the this topic and not ask the same question over and over. I will do my best to cover all topics regarding wheels and try and answer as many common questions as possible through this guide. That being said, this is not a comprehensive guide or an end all, be all guide for wheels as some fitments may be so aggressive that they lose these concepts altogether. What this is meant for is the average person wondering if their wheel will fit given a certain amount of specifications.

Our wheel bolt pattern is 5x112

Before continuing on I should note that you need to ask yourself one question before you go wheel shopping.

- Am I lowered?

if your answer is no, then stop looking at wheels right now,

http://www.uscopdcoalition.org/userfiles/stop_sign.png

save up for a decent suspension (springs are fine and look at the newbie sticky for spring/coilover information and how much drop to expect with different spring/coilover set ups are out there). When members offer advice to lower your car before going to a new wheel is not because it is the proper thing to do (even tho it is). We say this because a 19 inch wheel on a stock suspension creates an illusion of a big amount of wheel gap….you will NOT like the wheel you like on your car because of this and it looks about a silly as 20’s on a minivan…. So please I know wheels are very tempting, but get a drop before you go wheel shopping….who knows you may even like the wheels you have after a drop.