PDA

View Full Version : DIY: 2.0T Test Pipe Install

Del@Creative
10-02-2006, 01:22 PM
Here it is my first attempt at a DIY write up sorry if I miss any steps

INSTALLING B7 TEST PIPE

1. Remove front oxygen sensor (O2)
2. Remove the top 17mm nuts connecting the cat and the turbo
(I used a 17mm swivel head socket with a 3in. extension on a 3/8 drive ratchet)
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b312/deljustdel/test%20pipe/o2andbolts.jpg

3. Disconnect red connector for 2nd O2 sensor located on driver side fire wall next to the coolant tank and follow the harness toward the O2 sensor and cut the ziptie holding the harness
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b312/deljustdel/test%20pipe/02b2.jpg

4. Lift the car up on a rack or on jack stands NOTE: if using jack-stands allow plenty of ground clearance to clear the down pipe and cat
5. Remove the bottom 17mm bolts connecting the cat and turbo
(sorry no pic of this but I used the same tools as I used to remove the top ones)

6. Remove the spring loaded bolt holding the down pipe, don't worry the spring will not fly off when unbolting this
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b312/deljustdel/test%20pipe/spring.jpg

7. Remove small cross member (10mm 12piont spline drive bolts) and loosen the exhaust collar nuts (13mm)
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b312/deljustdel/test%20pipe/bracket.jpg

8. Slide collar back toward the muffler
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b312/deljustdel/test%20pipe/move.jpg

9. Now slide the cat downward with the down-pipe and remove from vehicle (This can be a little tricky but it does come down this way you may need to twist and turn it out to come out but don't force it out it should come out fairly smoothly)
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b312/deljustdel/test%20pipe/drop.jpg

10. Now unbolt the cat from the down-pipe (3, 12mm nuts on 3, 13mm bolts) and install testpipe to down-pipe, don't forget to replace the gasket, nuts and bolts