View Full Version : AmD is offering thier stage 1 and 2
jimmyrecluse
12-09-2004, 10:34 AM
Programs at 299.00 until stock runs out and its almost gone.
I heard that they will give you stage 3 for 399.
I am skeptikal... 40 HP on an N/A car?
AmD claims the 4.2 V8 is very similar to the 380 HP A8 4.2 V8. But if that is true then why doesnt GIAC, Neuspeed, APR, O.ct or whoever elses make even close to AmD's results?
Croman
12-09-2004, 11:37 AM
u got a website for them?
jimmyrecluse
12-09-2004, 12:48 PM
http://www.amdtechnikusa.com/home.asp
JetBlue
12-09-2004, 05:18 PM
Is that price correct? Are you talking about just the software or the true stage 2 with the exhaust?
MO
jimmyrecluse
12-10-2004, 08:01 AM
Originally posted by JetBlue
Is that price correct? Are you talking about just the software or the true stage 2 with the exhaust?
MO
HAHA.. just the software stage 1 or 2 for 299.
B6 S4 is BRZRKR
12-10-2004, 08:38 AM
I must say that, in my research on this, I think that AMD is quoting the HP on their website including the exhaust and intake. It says it in the really small writing if I remember correctly. So, I am ordering the following on Tuesday (see applicable thread);
GIAC with everything, all maps, and flashloader
Whatever that intake is
Milltek Exhaust... and I don't know if I want resonated or not. You guys please help me with that too.
I think that I am to expect around 390HP (50HP gain) with this setup. AMD has something on their page that gives 405 I believe. But the shop that I'm probably dealing with says that AMD won't call them back... and this is a pretty badass high end shop.
Ant good or bad experiences to mention about AMD?
TxShepS4
12-10-2004, 11:40 AM
You are right. The Stage 1 is just the ECU upgrade and they are claiming 380hp; Stage 2 is supposedly "optimized" for cat-back exhaust and gives you 400hp with the exhaust and chip; Stage 3 "optimized" for downpipes and cat-back and chip gets you purportedly to 415hp
B6 S4 is BRZRKR
12-10-2004, 07:42 PM
Shit that is alot of power. Anybody do this yet?
Redundant
12-11-2004, 07:29 PM
If your ever skeptical about the numbers produced on AMDTechnik USA go check out the UK AMDTechnik site, www.amdtechnik.co.uk . There site says upto 370 bhp off of a chip, upto 380 bhp off of a chip and Milltek exhaust, and upto 400 bhp with chip, Milltek Sports Cats, Milltek cat back exhaust system.
jimmyrecluse
12-13-2004, 07:43 AM
AmD's claims are that the S4 motor is really a detuned A8 4.2. The S8 makes 380 stock. I talked to some people that say the motors are different.
Oh, you guys there is a Labree group buy, I'll post another thread explaining that. But Im skeptical about AMDs claims. Plus it voids warranty. Unlike GIAC which has a flash loader the AMD needs to be soldered on.
chrislg
12-19-2004, 08:30 AM
Originally posted by jimmyrecluse
[B]AmD's claims are that the S4 motor is really a detuned A8 4.2. The S8 makes 380 stock. I talked to some people that say the motors are different.
I'm almost certain the European S8 have different cams , probably other tweaks as well, so in theory it is a detuned 4.2 but to retune it require cams as well[:)]