PDA

View Full Version : New A4 w/XM



mac429
07-03-2007, 01:56 PM
After reading all the Audi forums over the past cpl of months I finally bit the bullet and took delivery of an 07 A4 today. I do seem to be having one problem with the radio, however, and the tech who usually works on this is out for the week. Therefore, I was hoping that the experts on here could help me out.

First of all, the sales rep told me that they were able to install an old XM unit for the radio and that it would work with the Symphony II+ radio in my car. (On a side note, I also have BT in this car). OK, so it appears that the XM (8E0 035 593 A/8E0 057 593 A) unit has two antenna inputs and the car is only wired with one antenna connector in the harness. Therefore, although the XM is working perfectly the head unit shows an "Antenna" error on the screen. Does anyone know of a way around this? Is there some kind of coding that can be done or is there some kind of adapter that can be used? If it's going to say Antenna on the display then I may as well switch to Sirius. I'm just used to XM and would like to stay with them.

Second, when I hit the menu button on the radio I also don't see the Clock option in the top right. Does anyone know if this is because of the XM unit or once again is this just some kind of coding problem?

Thank you for all of your help.

******UPDATE*******
Ok, I figured out that I needed a Fakra splitter after talking to some local installers. I'm still wondering if anyone knows why I don't have the "Clock" option when I go into the setup menu on the II+?

scottburton11
07-09-2007, 02:19 PM
Here's how I approached the FAKRA splitter issue:

http://www.navplus.us/forum/viewtopic.php?p=38796#38796

For XM, there's another Terk model with the proper FAKRA configuration, but just about anything will work if you remove/reconfigure the connectors.

kstrike155
08-23-2007, 12:28 AM
Here's how I approached the FAKRA splitter issue:

http://www.navplus.us/forum/viewtopic.php?p=38796#38796

For XM, there's another Terk model with the proper FAKRA configuration, but just about anything will work if you remove/reconfigure the connectors.

Do you happen to know if this will work:
http://cgi.ebay.com/Terk-Dual-Input-Splitter-XM-SP-XM-Radio-Antenna_W0QQitemZ170142024889QQihZ007QQcategoryZ71 532QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

I have a 2007.5 A4 with the Symphony II+ like the original poster. I just ordered XM tuner 8E0 057 593 A for it. This combo should work, right?

Thanks,
Brian