PDA

View Full Version : CAR COMPUTER 12V source and AUDIO



trautob
01-21-2007, 05:13 PM
Alright so Im installing a car computer in my trunk and then using a 7in touch screen in the front to control it. The problem is Im good with computers but not too good with electrical 12 V and ignition lines and getting sound working for the computer. I realize if I take out the double din radio and put my screen there I will then have to tap into the stock amp to get a audi signal, but you cant do that with the headunit you need to get an aftermarket one im told. I was reading up on this http://a4mods.com/index.php?page=web...es/stereo.html but needed some more questions answered.

If I used the 12V source in the trunk
http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m182/trautob/CIMG0874.jpg
can i then tap into that connector and just strip the wire?
http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m182/trautob/CIMG0878.jpg
http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m182/trautob/CIMG0879.jpg
I then would also have to find something that is active only when ignition is turned on.

How do you get the car stereo speakers to play what the computer is putting out with no headunit. Thanks for the help.

Heres a pic of my comptuer Im putting together for a visual.

http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m182/trautob/computer.jpg
installing components

http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m182/trautob/computer2.jpg
ready to go
__________________

trautob
01-22-2007, 02:46 PM
no one knows?

xtremalkz
02-01-2007, 06:56 PM
I'm not quite sure, don't have experience in installing pc. But from general knowledge, I think you need an aftermarket amp to power speakers.

duglas
02-01-2007, 10:01 PM
PM ME your phone #, I can help you with everything you need to know..
here is a link to my CARPUTER

http://www.audizine.com/forum/showthread.php?t=99270

I have since changed it and used the correct bezel and such..